PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Madison Brewing Company - Bennington, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 12:21 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Bennington > Madison Brewing Company
Madison Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Madison Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 71 / 100
428 Main Street
Bennington, VT 05201
United States
(802) 442-7397
Listed Since: January 1997
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bennington, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
46 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Northshire Brewery
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Molly Stark Inn
2) Samuel Safford Inne
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW NEW ENGLANDER MOTOR INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Whitney, Cora B., School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Ann Marie's Pizzas Grinders
2) Bennington Cider Mill
3) Bennington Pizza House
4) Bennington Pizza Plaza
5) Happy Cook
6) Hunter's An American Grill
7) Izabella's Eatery
8) J C's Tavern
9) New Lucky Dragon
10) Northside Dairy Bar
11) Pizza Hut
12) Quiznos Sub
13) Ryan's Cafe
14) Shortstop
15) Talk Of The Town Restaurant
16) Top Notch Diner
17) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
Drove over to Bennington from the Troy, NY area for New Year's Eve lunch today - checked for breweries on-line first becaue we are beer fans - had a great time at Madison Brewing Company. Our two favorites today - Old 76 Strong Ale & Willoughby's Scottish Ale (pints chosen after the sampler flight and NOT what we thought our choices would be based on our usual favorites - took us to some new flavor areas!). For food, we had the Blackened Slattery (delicious cajun-blackened cod sandwich w/chipotle aioli) and the Triple Treat (knockwurst, bratwurst & Irish banger w/sauerkraut). We were VERY happy with our food and the beers, and our great server, Donna E., added to the enjoyment. Thanks, and happy 2011 Madison Brewing!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jamie Jamie, Waterford, NY
(12/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So Good
The beers were not all bad, 3 of them were worth the trip the rest good but not great IMO. The food/service was as bland as the Blondie. The staff just seemed to be bumping off each other instead fo working with each other. Two out of four things ordered were made wrong. Over all would I go back, YES, for dinner, NO. Beer and a app.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Warwick, RI
(09/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I had to write this in regards to that FLAT LANDER The bird from Adams Ma.Sounds to me like your the type that drinks that SAM Adams Garbage .I have been going here ever since they opened and can attest that they use real maple syrup in their beer.Sounds like you think you know a lot about beer and in reality don't know squat .So do us vermoters a favor and stay in Mass. and don't come back .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from colonel colonel, Benn., VT
(04/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Read some of the older reviews and don't get most. I found the IPA to be very drinkable and tasty. Service was very good and was the food. Sat at the bar...bartender was very attentive and funny. I'd go back this weekend if my wife might let me. Good beer, good food, good service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, Berkeley Springs, WV
(09/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
Stopped by with The Wife and Daughter a few weeks back, hadn't been by even though we lived in the general area for a while. My wife's beer - a Scottish Ale of some sort, IIRC, had a horrible, extremely harsh, acrid aftertaste that just built and built. Really bad, not really even the flavor of a darkly roasted malt, just really like charcoal, burnt well beyond style and too acrid even if it was in a stout.

I had a Wit, I believe, that was light, refreshing, and unoffensive. Not bad, not exceptional.

I then ordered a pint of their maple porter (there weren't that many choices this day). Horrible; bland base beer loaded to the nines with fake, horribly fake, "maple" syrup. No subtlety at all; this was like trying to quaff a pint of Mrs. Butterworth's. Pancake syrup flavor - not maple syrup. Horrible beer, especially in freakin' Vermont (show some damn respect!)

Food was OK, unremarkable; menu is pretty large, and I though it was trying to do TOO much. Traditional British pub grub, Italian food, German food... what we had was OK, but seems that they might benefit from tightening the food focus a little bit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from the_Bird the_Bird, Adams, MA
(07/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
The Madison; love the BEER, all of it.! Food is great! It's a cool Pub with a resturant adittude, and exellant Beer. thanks always,

Gary GNU.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Bourdon Gary Bourdon, North Adams , MA
(12/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
AWEFUL-

And nice to see the owner is challenging an open forum. What an ass

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M Goode M Goode, Portland, ME
(10/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
I don't understand what these other reviewers are complaining about. The beers Michael brews are very tasty overall. I show up weekely primarily because of Crow Town withdrawal. But when Crow Town is not available there are at least 2 others that satisfy my need - the seasonal IPA or Old '76. I love an ale with a bite or at least heavy on the hopps. Madison has what I need! And the food is terrific.

C'mon people - lighten up!

I'll keep coming back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TheWednesdayGuy TheWednesdayGuy, Readsboro, VT
(09/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Great Good
All I had was their IPA. It lacked flavor and depth. Quite boring. The bartender was great though and the crowd at the bar very friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from christian christian, philly, PA
(03/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Peeping leaves in October. Stopped here for lunch. Good choice. Food hit the spot and the beer was very well crafted. You won't be sorry to eat/quaff here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Randall Pat Randall, Sacramento, CA
(03/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
We stopped in here for lunch on the way up to Burlington. It is a nice little place in downtown Madison. Ordered a sampler of 5 beers. Tried a blonde, honey wheat, a pale, a strong ale, and a belgian farmhouse ale. Blond and honey wheat were nice light tasting beers, no complaints there. Pale was tasty. The strong ale was a winner in my book and I had a pint and bought a growler of it to go. I didn't care for the farmhouse ale but beers fermented with Brett are not among my favorites.

Food was tasty and priced reasonably. Downtown Bennington was a nice walk for tired legs and eyes too.

I would gladly return to this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Weaver Mike Weaver, Batavia, NY
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great
the sucker pond blonde was awsome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from joe joe, foxboro, MA
(04/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I had a blast at the Madison Brewing Company...Great Beer...SUCKER POND BLOND is the best...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Vines J. Vines, Shokan, NY
(02/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
We thought the beer quality was great. The old 76 strong ale was smooth and not overly hoppy. The service was terrific; the staff very friendly. We'll be back next time we travel to Bennington!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Reid Ron Reid, Goose Creek, SC
(04/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
Stopped in for a bite to eat ended up having a few pints of many of there different homsetyled brews. Each one was excellent in their own way. They knew exactly how to describe the beers that they made. Anyone stopping in and looking to try a few different types of beers without leaving tipsy i would reccomend the beer sampler. To go along with that the buffalo chicken wrap would be the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Clifton Park, NY
(01/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
Quality of the beer is not good, yet the place and the town are very nice. Worth a look if you are in the area, but don't go out of your way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Pete, New Haven, CT
(11/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Good Lousy
The beers--I tried Sucker Pond Blonde, and Old 76 Ale--are defective! They taste like wet tin metal smells, or, say, like the taste of tap water from very old corroded pipes. The brewmaster should seek immediate help to correct this lamentable problem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Schoen Tom Schoen, Toledo, OH
(10/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I truly hope you are not the owner/manager. Replying defensively to people that criticize your establishment make YOU look unprofessional and insecure. I saw nothing in that review that attacked you or the brewery - just an opinion. Yet you insult him by saying he knows nothing about good beer.

Also, I've been to brewfests at Mount Snow and found them to be lacking and would take comments/awards with a grain of salt. Furthermore, how do you know you were working the particular day/shift this guy refers to - as he never REFERS to it. Maybe you work 24/7 and can be in the kitchen, dining room and behind the bar at the same time.

Always get great reviews for your service? Take a gander at some other reviews here - you might be shocked.

And unless this list is terribly outdated, you DID serve a Porter at some point: http://www.madisonbrewing.com/Brews.htm

This site can get out of hand with the verbal wars, seemingly biased reviews, etc. But this seems like an honest review. Maybe you should take a look at the concerns raised and see if you could improve. Or you could do nothing, blast those that don't like your brew and do business as usual.

Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Bristol, RI
(09/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
In replying this last review, i must say that sir, you have no idea what good brew is let alone what we serve. Madison's was just at the Mount Snow Beer Festival this past Labor Day. Well, sorry to inform you that we received great reviews about our beer, including the Pale Ale. Also, it is news to me that we serve a porter.. As for the service, we always get great reviews. As a matter of fact, I worked that day. We were packed to the nines. A server only has so much time to answer questions when there is a house full of thirsty guests..

PROST!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. Madison M. Madison, bennington, VT
(09/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So
I keep hoping this place will improve. Sadly, it does not. The beers are not bad, just unremarkable - lacking in both flavor and body. We had a pale and a porter and were disappointed in both, so we had no more. The bar and decor are nice, with the brewing equipment visible behind the restaurant seating. The nachos were very good, but that's all we had. Though it was not overly busy on a Saturday afternoon, the bartender seemed disinterested in her job, the beers, or the customers. I used to stop in here every few months when they first opened, and a few times the beers were just plain bad. So in that regard, perhaps they have improved some. This time it had been several years, so I was hoping for a marked improvement. It will be another several years before I try again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from max max, nashua, NH
(08/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
The pub itself is just an average pub with a good selection of beer. All the beers didn't taste bad, they were all just bland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So So So
It hasn’t gotten any better. The last time I must have blinked when I ordered the Stark House Raspberry. It’s an extract poured into the Buck’s Honey Wheat! It has that same burnt-stale flavor as always. And it was hardly a wheat, unless they filter it 300-times.

The woman behind the bar had no clue about any of the beers. She was kind enough to sic the brewer on me when he came in. Let me try to be kind. I know a lot of brewers. If I ask a question about the beer or the process I’m not trying to be a wise-ass, I’m trying to learn. Instead I was treated with contempt in response to every question I asked. Catching two or three WRONG answers to basic brewing questions, he laughed them off and told me in these exact words, “If you want beer done right go to McNeill’s.” OK. Will do! Or C. H. Evans. Or Brown’s Brewing Co. Or Maple Leaf. Good grief!

At least the stop at the Man of Kent made up for this place . . .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(06/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
Beer - less geared toward beer aficionados. Limited descriptions of choices. German style. Nothing great, B-. Tasted the 76 and IPA. Beers only $3.5! Service - Very friendly. Not pretentious, almost college bary. Music - really bad 80s pop - Shalimar was playing!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, philly, PA
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
I stopped by to give their beer another chance, and I believe that they have solved their "house flavor" problem. It may have been as easy as cleaning out the lines, but whatever it was, it worked. I had the pale ale and the Scottish ale, and both were much better than on my previous visit a couple of years ago. The pale was very well hopped, and had a nice nose. A previous reviewer noted that the poor reviews were all from "hopheads" who didn't find enough hoppiness to Madison's beers, but I disagree. I like a good wheat or porter as much as anyone, so it's not only hops that we're looking for. The Madison had a problem in their system, not related to the recipes or styles. I'm happy to report that it seems to have been resolved. Still a really nice atmosphere, with good food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(03/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! Good So So So So
A good try and a good idea for this town, but it still needs some tastier selections and better service...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Burlington, VT
(10/22/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.279 seconds) 00:21:11 54.234.147.84, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS