PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Portsmouth Brewing Company/Mault's Brewpub - Portsmouth, OH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 24, 2014 @ 07:25 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OH > Portsmouth > Portsmouth Brewing Company/Mault's Brewpub
Portsmouth Brewing Company/Mault's Brewpub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Portsmouth Brewing Company/Mault's Brewpub
Overall: Great    Score: 73.3 / 100
224 Second Street
Portsmouth, OH 45662
United States
(740) 354-6106
Listed Since: September 1999
Last Updated: April 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Portsmouth, OH
Beer Guide for Ohio

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Portsmouth Brewing Company/Mault's Brewpub
15 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN PORTSMOUTH OH
2) SUPER 8 PORTSMOUTH OH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Greenlawn Cemetery Chapel
2) Horseshoe Mound
3) Zottman House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Benny's
2) Blondie's
3) Bogeys
4) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
5) Cardo's Of New Boston
6) Clock Bar & Grill
7) Daddy's
8) Dairy Queen
9) Hilltop Market
10) Jags Inc
11) Little Nick's
12) M & M Dairy Bar & Pizza
13) Malt Shops Inc
14) Mc Manus Catering
15) Pap's Carry Out & Convenient
16) Partytime Pub
17) Richard Noggins Restaurant
18) Second Street Dari Creme
19) Sodexho Svc
20) Southern Moon Pit Barbecue
21) Spencer's Market
22) Stag Bar
23) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
24) Toro Loco Authentic Mexican
25) Village Catering
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great So So
Beer was just ok, not much of a selection. The pizza and lasagna was pretty good and the bartender was friendly and attentive. The place kind of smelled like there was a big drunken party the night before, smelling like old beer and a little puke. A local type of place. Interesting history to the building.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Portsmouth Brewing Company, located at 224 Second Street was Portsmouth's first known commercial brewery, the Portsmouth Brewery was established in 1843. The owners now have re-opened as the Portsmouth Brewing Co. added a micro-brewery in the 1990's, and are eager to share the process with their customers. Group tours are welcome and group menu specials are available upon request.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Decent beers - except for the Ginger Shandy that was described by the bartender as tasting like Pine-Sol and urine (he used a less delicate term). I have to say his assessment was spot-on. Apparently it is a favorite of the brewer. According to the bartender, other brewers/aficionados will drive 3 or 4 hours to get it. I personally would drive 3 or 4 hours to avoid it... The IPA was decent, and the brown ale was quite tasty. I didn't try the food as my friend (a local) advised me it wasn't very good. As someone else said, head down to the Scioto Ribber for good food as they had two or three of these beers on tap when I was there. Overall a decent atmosphere, if a bit dusty and creaky, and good service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Witt Bill Witt, Fowler, MI
(02/09/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Went there while on vacation in KY across the river. Small selection 6 if I remember right. Redbird Ale was great. More of a neighborhood watering hole than a micro-brewery. All in all great beer and outstanding service. Gave me samples of other brews without having to order them

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cape Canaveral, FL
(05/29/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good So So
Recently changed menu to be nothing but food-service pre-packaged type stuff. Used to be a full menu place. Restaurant rates a zero, bar OK, brews decent. Seasonal maple nut refreshing, maple not overpowering. Go for the beer, stick to the bar food basics.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Columbus, OH
(07/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
This place is very friendly but, their "own" beer selection was very limited to a red pale, double bock and a pilsner (they also serve Bud, Miller, Coors.) Even though I'm a big IPA/Pale fan I found their Pilsner a very interesting beer. It was a creamy with a great finish. It was a refreshing change. Ask Jim Swackamer when you arrive you will be entertained.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Taylor Robert Taylor, Russiaville, IN
(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
This brewpub is west of downtown. They have a nice patio but they weren't serving out there when I was at the brewpub. Inside there are a lot of rooms but everyone was in 2 fairly small, smoky rooms. Everyone in the place seemed to be smoking. The non-smoking section was apparently a few tables by the kitchen that the kitchen staff was sitting at. The beers were good but nothing great. They are doing a good job considering that brewpubs in areas like this tend to have very mild beers. They had 8 beers on tap and I tried the sampler. The Hefe Weiss was the best. The pale ale was decent but could use some more hops. The menu is basically steaks or sandwiches. If you don't like smoky rooms, you might have to make a fuss to get them to serve you in some other area. They have a quite a few different rooms in the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
when drinking the hand crafted brews at this brew pub, one can almost feel the love the brew miester has for creating these most delectable draughts the food the atmosphere of the outdoor beer garden have undergone wonderful changes to enhance it's quaint charm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review portsmouth, OH
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
NEVER BEEN THERE BUT WITH A NAME LIKE MAULT ATTACHED TO IT. IT HAS TO BE A VERY FINE PLACE INDEED!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from NORMAN E. MAULT NORMAN E. MAULT, XENIA, OH
(12/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Great Beers! I had the American Pale Ale...good hop bitterness...nice flavorful ale, but an easy drinker. I could drink it all day. Food was good. Very homey atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mick Douthat Mick Douthat, Cincinnati, OH
(11/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
Excellent atmosphere since it is in what used to be the portsmouth brewing company until prohibition. Their best brew is definitely the Vulcan, a kind of dark german style beer. I always get a growler of this when I visit. Service is good as well as food. Since this is a little college town, summer is their off season, so it is better to visit during the school months. Incidentally, just down the road is The Ribber, home of the best steaks and/or ribs in Ohio. And they serve the vulcan dark from Mault bros.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Nichols Scott Nichols, Hilliard, OH
(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Great beer, great food and a great building. Be sure to try this one if you can.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good
Technically speaking, there was nothing wrong with the beer. Not light struck. No infections or after tastes. They just tasted as if they were watered down. No flavor. I sampled all of the beers and found them all to be fairly tasteless. The selection was good. The food was great! If I'm in town again I'd give them another try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Kirk Jim Kirk, Indianapolis, IN
(03/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The interesting thing about the Portsmouth Brewing Co. is that it is located in a historic building that housed the original Portsmouth Brewery, which operated from 1842 until prohibition (http://www.zoomnet.net/~portcity/brewery.htm). As you enter the building, now refurbished as the "Brewery Arcade", you find the present day brewing equipment on the right and Mault's Brewpub on the left. I could not sample the brews or food on the Thursday that I was there, since the brewpub did not open until 3:00 PM and I was there around noon. The chalkboard above the bar indicated a variety of German style beers on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(06/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Established on the Ohio River dividing Kentucky and Ohio, this Brewpub is located in the quaint town of Portsmouth Ohio. The beers were pretty good, leaning more toward the German styles. The food was also German Cuisine. I suspect that the "Mault Bros." are also German. They are the Brew Team here. All-in-all It was a nice place to stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Columbus, OH
(09/11/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.552 seconds) 19:25:23 54.242.190.171, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS