PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Blue and Gray Brewing Company - Fredericksburg, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 23, 2014 @ 12:52 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Fredericksburg > Blue and Gray Brewing Company
Blue and Gray Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Blue and Gray Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.1 / 100
3300 Dill Smith Drive
Bowman Center
Fredericksburg, VA 22408
United States
(540) 538-2379
Listed Since: February 2003
Last Updated: September 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Fredericksburg, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Blue and Gray Brewing Company
9 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Blue and Grey Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Braehead Bed & Breakfast
2) Roxbury Mill B & B & Catering
3) Wytestone Suites
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN SOUTHPOINT
2) DAYS INN FREDERICKSBURG SOUTH
3) ECONO LODGE FREDERICKSBURG
4) HERITAGE INN
5) HOWARD JOHNSON FREDERICKSBURG
6) RAMADA INN S FREDERICKSBURG
7) SLEEP INN FREDERICKSBURG
8) SUPER 8 FREDERICKSBURG VA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Massaponax Baptist Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Affordable Catering
2) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
3) Beanies Best Catering & Clnng
4) Blimpie Subs & Salads
5) Bourbon St Deli
6) Burger Busters
7) Cafe Casual
8) Caterers R Us
9) D's Family Group Inc
10) Danny's Pizza
11) Domino's Pizza
12) Dynasty Buffet
13) El Asador Restaurant
14) Gogo's Pizza
15) Jan's Food Svc
16) Lees Hill Diner
17) Lins Express
18) Organics R Us Catering
19) Primo Pizza
20) Pub
21) Starbucks
22) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
23) Sweet Magnolia Cafe
24) T&T Deli
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good ? Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
The brewery is still in the Bowman Center but in a different building. They will be opening a full service brewpub sometime soon. New location is still pretty much under construction but tours and retail are still available. If you've got your own kegerator at home, take your personal kegs to B & G and get a refill for pretty cheap. Have not had the beer in a while but remember Fred Red being the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
The brewery is still in the Bowman Center but in a different building. They will be opening a full service brewpub sometime soon. New location is still pretty much under construction but tours and retail are still available. If you've got your own kegerator at home, take your personal kegs to B & G and get a refill for pretty cheap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(04/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
I enjoy everything they brew. One of the best Pale Ales. Heaps of Cascade. The Red Ale is extremely malty with the classic toffee and caramel notes you would expect. The stout has huge mocha qualities to it. In my opinion their best seasonal is the Rasberry Choc Stout for Valentines day. Just the right amount of fruit and choc to compliment one another. I would love to see them try a Barley Wine or a Belgian style.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Leaman Ryan Leaman, Fredericksburg, VA
(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Fresh, local beer at its finest. Blue and The Grey is a tiny little microbrewery that you won't find outside of the Fredricksburg, VA market and I like that. It was well worth it for me to make the 40 mile trek, and I will be back for more. Their Fred Red is an excellent example of Irish Red ale with lots of good sweet malty and fruity aromas and flavors and some nice hop bitterness as well. The Falmouth Pale Ale is equally impressive with lots of zesyty hop character and crisp pale malt flavors. The Classic Lager is malty, clean, balanced, and so, so drinkable. The quality and freshness of Blue and The Grey really impressed me. You can pick beers up directly from the brewery three days a week, available in kegs, 2 liter and 1 liter growlers, 22 oz bottles, and 12 oz six packs. Well worth seeking out if you are in Fredericksburg, VA. Look for their beers on draught at local bars and restaruants, and enjoy some really fresh, really delicious beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John T, Sherman John T, Sherman, Washington, DC
(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A Great Great
My only regret is that I didn't find this place sooner. I worked in Fredericksburg for three and half years and didn't discover them until two weeks before my company transferred me. I purchased a Growler and take it with me every time I return. It's a little difficult to find but worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McCormack Mike McCormack, Greenville, NC
(05/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Well, actually, Blue & Gray ain't much to look at: a brewhouse and the business end of an old Hershey's ice cream truck up on blocks in a big industrial park bay. But they are some of the funniest, friendliest people I've ever met in over 20 years of hanging around the beer biz, and the beer's just excellent. Get out to the brewery for a tour (call ahead, it's kinda loose) or just grab some of their beer in the local area. You'll be happy you did.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(04/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
GREAT BEER, GREAT PEOPLE, WHO COULD ASK FOR MORE.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Dyer Keith Dyer, Stafford, VA
(12/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
Small regional. Brews 3 beers: Classic Lager, a transitional beer, or sort of a Pre-Prohibition American Lager; Fredericksburg Red Ale, a red with good body, and a real decent hop profile; and the new Falmouth Pale Ale, APA with cascade and liberty. Hoppy, but nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lyle C. Brown Lyle C. Brown, Fredericksburg, VA
(07/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
This small brewery serves a few dozen tap accounts in the immediate area, and hand-bottles for a few specialty retail shops. Fresh brew can be had directly from the brewery at the low price of $4 per growler full; bring your own container. Red ale and pale ale were both very good. Limited public hours but worth the visit; call ahead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(06/23/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.573 seconds) 00:52:15 54.166.123.2, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS