PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Southern Tier Brewing Company - Lakewood, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 21, 2014 @ 03:54 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Lakewood > Southern Tier Brewing Company
Southern Tier Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Southern Tier Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.2 / 100
2051A Stoneman Circle
PO Box 166
Lakewood, NY 12750
United States
(716) 763-5479
Listed Since: June 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lakewood, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
16 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat 01:00PM - 50:0PM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Griffin House Bed & Breakfast
2) Stringer's Cntry Inn & Stables
3) Sunrise House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) VILLA ROMA RESORT LODGES
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Hessinger Store
2) Stone Arch Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Club At Villa Roma
2) Dragon City Chinese Restaurant
3) Kellys Kones Ctr
4) Kitchen
5) Matson's Deli & Catering
6) Michael Angelo's Pizzeria
7) Mullally's
8) Sal's Pizzeria Restaurant
9) Ted's Restaurant
10) Three Chocalateers Cafe
11) Villa Roma Resort Hotel
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great ? Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Picked up a large bottle of the Unearthly Imperial IPA at the Geneva Wegmans on a trip to the Finger Lakes and I'm very happy I did. It is a very, very good beer. Quite hoppy, which I like, but it also finished with a slight but noticeable flowery, sweet flavor. This is my kinda beer. I gotta find some of this in the Harrisburg area or drive north again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill and Tara Bill and Tara, Harrisburg, PA
(07/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Terrific beer! I'd go out of my way to stop again, though they're open for tasting and tours only on Fridays and Saturdays. Came home with Belgian Tripel, Harvest Ale, Phin & Matts, and the Blueberry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paula Paula, Valencia, PA
(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I love IPA's and theirs is probably the best I have tried. I do a lot of traveling and it is simply excellent. In addition, all of their offerings are also very good. I suggest their 12 pack variety.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jim jim, brewerton, NY
(06/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tonight I picked up a six-pack of winter ale at Wegmans Buffalo having never seen/heard of the brewery. In the words of Rachel Ray, "LOVed it!" Can't wait to spread the word and serve this to my friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Molly Molly, Buffalo, NY
(11/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
While I haven't had the pleasure of a visit to the brewery, I did luck out by being able to taste the Imperial Stout and Harvest Ale recently at Buffalo's Pizza Plant. Both were super; the stout big, bold and definitely dangerous! The Harvest Ale had many of the things I look for in a beer--aggressive hops, malt that comes through loud and clear, and most of all, character! I've had their other products in the past and found them excellent as well. How about a care package sent to my place in PA?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I Visited Southern Tier in Late July. At first glance, the building appeared empty, but one of the brewmasters, Phineas, was down the hall in the tasting room. A tour group had just left, so he invited my wife and I to sample some of the varieties until more people arrived and the first tour came back. Not long after, more people came in and the first tour came in from the brewery floor. Phineas guided our toor, (beer in hand) and it is evident he loves his Art, and is very knowledgeable about the brewing process. On to the beers. I had sampled them all in bottles previously, with the exception of the Hop Sun. I was already a big fan, but the fresh-from-the-tap-never-left-the-brewery beer was better than I could have imagined. The Pilsner has the lightest flavor, and is quite an enjoyable mellow beer. The Mild Ale is much more full-flavored and more what I look for in a quality Ale. The IPA offered by Southern Tier has got the hoppy punch one looks for in an IPA. This one can hold its own in any crowd. The Porter is my personal favorite with the dark undertones one should expect from a great dark beer, but without anything overpowering to detract from the beer experience. We also sampled the summer seasonal brew the Hop Sun. This has got to be the perfect summer beer. Enough of the hops to give it plenty of flavor, but no so much as to make the taste overpowering, or to make you ever want to stop drinking it. In a nutshell, every one of Southern Tier's beers is in a word, drinkable. The varieties are all variations on the theme that great beer is brewed to be enjoyed. These are all great beers. If you get the opportunity to try Southern Tier, or stop by on a Saturday...DO IT! I have personally adopted their sloagan as my own at home...... "its what we drink around here"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Johnson Dave Johnson, Sharpsville, PA
(08/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Visited 7/3/04 for a tour and some tastings. Matt the brewmaster was the tour guide. For having been in business for only about 1 1/2 years these guys have established themselves as what I would consider to be the top craft brewery in upstate NY. I especially like their IPA. Big on hops just the way I like it. All of their beers are tasty and are distributed in a wide area. Tours are done only on Saturday 2 to 5pm. Well worth the trip. Keep up the good job guys!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.S. J.S., Wayland, NY
(07/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
My husband and I have visited the Brewery twice. Both times the service was great and the guys behind the bar were totally laid back and cool. Last time we were there we met some new people and just hung out..it was an awesome time. Plus the beer is the best!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from christina christina, binghamton, NY
(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Harvest Ale, available by the case in Rochester, NY. As a onetime brewmaster of the Rochester Brew Pub, I sense the balance of great ale yeast and just enough overhopping. I wish they had a website with specifics.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from yardboy yardboy, Rochester, NY
(05/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
I thought I would offer a "Part 2" to my review of January. I sent a copy of the review I put here to their offical web site ATT: the director of marketing. I never heard a single word back from them. Southern Tier was at the Syracuse Brew Festival so I stopped by there. The people 'manning' the booth were rude and aloof--a rarity at brew festivals. Foolishly bought a shirt. 1 sleeve fell off in the first wash. Since the Syracuse Brew-fest I have discovered at least one bar that has stopped carrying Southern Tier because of the rude, inappropriate behavior of their delevery people (the delivery people are ST emplyees). I hope for their sake that my continued bad luck is the exception rather than the rule.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(04/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
The Porter has become my beer of choice. Good malt and roast notes to it with a strong but crisp finish. Truly enjoy this beer. It makes me smile. Consumers and Wegmans sell six packs. Actually played beer pong using the Porter. Wish that I could start the day with a ST Porter. Used the Porter to make a mean chili. Cozumel on Elmwood carries ST products on tap. The Porter tastes AMAZING on tap. I have had the Pale Ale there over the summer. The Pale gets a B. I prefer a hopped up pale similar to Middle Ages or Victory. Even so, the Pale was very drinkable and I certainly wonuld not turn it down. Look forward to a trip to the brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Black & Tans Black & Tans, Syracuse, NY
(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great
I was in Syracuse recently and had a Southern Tier porter (bottled) at my hotel's bar (the Marx). I hadn't previously heard of Southern Tier, and I'm really glad I tried it. Excellent porter, nice and roasty. Later in the evening I had the IPA on tap at the Blue Tusk. A really GREAT beer. The hopheads will love it. I thought it notable that I had it after first drinking a Sierra Celebration (can't believe they still had some left in March), and the Southern Tier still stood up on its own. I hope these beers make their way to Albany soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Lousy Good
The quality of the beer at Southern Tier can not be denied. It is excellent. This is one reason why I made a special trip from Hornell, NY to Lakewood just to try the beer fresh, do the brewery tour, get a glass, t-shirt--the entire beer-geek experience. I planned to go on Jan 3 so I called the day before to be sure they would be open (being the hollidays and all). The assured me that they would be open. So, I make the 70 mile journey, arrive at 1PM--when the first tour is to start--and the place is all locked up. I decided to drive around a little and was back at 1:20. The door was open this time. I walked in and down the hall to the tasting room. No one was around anywhere. I waited a bit. Walked back down the hall to the receiption area and rang the bell. And boy did it ring--again and again and again. I waited a bit and then walked back down to the tasting room. The phone rang. I'm assuming someone somewhere answered it as it rang only once. I waited and looked through some of the magazines. Finally at 1:45 I said forget it and left. What a disapointment to drive that far and no one ever show up. As I drove back home I started to wonder how many t-shirts and beer they loose if this is a regular occurance.

Their beer is excellent and their shirts a cool as well, and if you live in the area I'd say stop by--but if you live farther away--don't make a special trip, you'll be left--well, beer-less.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(01/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A N/A
Awesome IPA, excellent drinkability, and strong!! Thier MILD is also delicious with a nice body

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Buffalo, NY
(12/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Great
Very impressive start-up. IPA is a whack in the head, Mild is a beauty of a session beer, porter is a good reach for a dark session with some roast notes. Go to it, guys.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
new microbrewry in western ny. great pale ale. porter is excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from b. kent b. kent, silver springs, NY
(07/03/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.522 seconds) 03:54:03 54.87.179.107, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS