PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Pasadena Brewing Company - Pasadena, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 21, 2014 @ 01:00 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Pasadena > Pasadena Brewing Company
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Pasadena Brewing Company
Overall: Good    Score: 69.3 / 100
42 South Delacey Avenue
Pasadena, CA 91105
United States
(626) 405-0404
Listed Since: October 2003
Last Updated: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pasadena, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
16 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Barney's Beanery
(0 mile)

2) Lucky Baldwin's
(0 mile)

3) Yard House
(2 miles)

4) Gordon Biersch Brewing Company
(2 miles)

5) Craftsman Brewing Company
(2 miles)

6) Quadrupel Brasserie
(2 miles)

7) Eagle Rock Brewery
(4 miles)

8) Stuffed Sandwich
(5 miles)

9) Weiland Brewery Restaurant
(7 miles)

10) Traxx Restaurant
(7 miles)

11) Green Bamboo
(7 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Artists' Inn
2) Bissell House Bed & Breakfast
3) Edlerbank House
4) Jonnell's Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST VALUE INN ROSEMEAD MONTERE
2) BEST WESTERN COLORADO INN PASA
3) BEST WESTERN EAGLE ROCK INN
4) BEST WESTERN MONTEREY PARK INN
5) COMFORT INN EAGLE ROCK
6) COMFORT INN PASADENA
7) DAYS INN ALHAMBRA
8) ECONO LODGE GLENDALE
9) HILTON PASADENA
10) HOMESTEAD GLENDALE BURBANK
11) OAKWOOD PASADENA
12) PASADENA INN
13) SHERATON PASADENA HOTEL
14) SUPER 8 LOS ANGELES ALHAMBRA
15) THE WESTIN PASADENA
16) TRAVELODGE PASADENA CENTRAL
17) VAGABOND INN PASADENA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adobe Flores
2) Batchelder House
3) Bekins Storage Co. Roof Sign
4) Bentz, Louise C., House
5) Blacker, Robert R., House
6) Blinn, Edmund, House
7) Bolton, Dr. W. T., House
8) Bonnie Court
9) Bowen Court
10) Bryan Court
11) Bullock's Pasadena
12) Civic Center Financial District
13) Colonial Court
14) Colorado Street Bridge
15) Cottage Court
16) Court
17) Court
18) Court
19) Court at 1274--1282 North Raymond Avenue
20) Court at 275 North Chester Avenue
21) Court at 533--549 North Lincoln Avenue
22) Court at 638--650 North Mar Vista Avenue
23) Court at 940--948 North Raymond Avenue
24) Crank House
25) Culbertson, Cordelia A., House
26) Cypress Court
27) Dana, Richard Henry, Branch
28) Derby, James Daniel, House
29) Don Carlos Court
30) Eagle Rock Branch Library
31) El Molino Viejo
32) Euclid Court
33) Evanston Inn
34) Farnsworth, Gen. Charles S., County Park
35) Fenyes Estate
36) First Trust Building and Garage
37) Foothill Boulevard Milestone (Mile 11)
38) Friendship Baptist Church
39) Gamble House
40) Garfield House
41) Gartz Court
42) Grey, Zane, Estate
43) Hale House
44) Hale Solar Laboratory
45) Harnetiaux Court
46) Haskett Court
47) Hermitage
48) Highland Park Masonic Temple
49) Highland Park Police Station
50) Holly Street Livery Stable
51) Home Laundry
52) Hotel Green
53) House at 1011 S. Madison Ave.
54) House at 1050 S. Madison Ave.
55) House at 1233 Wentworth Ave.
56) House at 380 W. Del Mar Blvd.
57) House at 530 S. Marengo Avenue
58) House at 574 Bellefontaine St.
59) Howard Motor Company Building
60) Hubble, Edwin, House
61) Judson Studios
62) Keyes Bungalow
63) Kindel Building
64) Kosy Knook Court
65) Lanterman House
66) Las Casitas Court
67) Lincoln Heights Branch
68) Longfellow-Hastings House
69) Longley, Howard, House
70) Lukens, Theodore Parker, House
71) Lummis House
72) Marengo Gardens
73) Mary Louise Court
74) Mentor Court
75) Millard House
76) Miltimore House
77) Miss Orton's Classical School for Girls (Dormitory)
78) Mission Court
79) Mount Pleasant House
80) Newcomb House
81) Nicholson, Grace, Building
82) Oaklawn Bridge and Waiting Station
83) Odd Fellows Temple
84) Orange Grove Court
85) Pacific Electric Railway Company Substation No. 8
86) Palmetto Court
87) Pasadena Playhouse
88) Rialto Theatre
89) Rose Bowl, The
90) Rose Court
91) San Gabriel Mission
92) San Rafael Rancho
93) Sara-Thel Court
94) Scripps Hall
95) Singer Building
96) Smith Estate
97) South Marengo Historic District
98) Space Flight Operations Facility
99) Stoutenburgh House
100) Twenty-Five Foot Space Simulator
101) Villa Verde
102) Washington Court
103) Woodbury--Story House
104) Wynyate
105) Ziegler Estate
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 35 Er
2) 54 Holly
3) A J's Fish & Chips
4) Acoustic Blend Coffee
5) Afloat Sushi
6) Ai Japanese Restaurant
7) Akbar Cuisine Of India
8) Al's Snack Shop
9) All India Cafe
10) Amy's Fast Food Restaurant
11) Anthony's Casita
12) Antojitos Guerrero
13) Arbor Crest Catering
14) Arirang Korean Restaurant
15) Ariya Japanese Restaurant
16) Arroyo Chop House
17) Arroyo Seco Country House
18) Asian Restaurant
19) Azeen's Afghani Restaurant
20) Back Door
21) Badabing
22) Baja Fresh
23) Bar Celona
24) Barkley On The Green-Brookside
25) Barn Burner Bbq
26) Barneys Limited
27) Baskin-Robbins
28) Baskin-Robbins
29) Beatle's Cafeteria
30) Beckham Grill
31) Big Ben's Deli Cafe
32) Boba World Inc
33) Bodega Wine Bar
34) Boiling Pot
35) Bono Corso's Italian Rstrnt
36) Boomerock
37) Boston Market
38) Brookside Country Club
39) Buca Di Beppo
40) Burger King
41) Buster's Ice Cream Stop
42) Cafe Atlantic
43) Cafe Bizou
44) Cafe Cordova
45) Cafe Latte
46) Cafe Santorini
47) Cafe Xpress
48) Caffe La Fornaretta
49) California Crisp
50) California Pizza Kitchen
51) California School Of Culinary
52) Cappuccino Charlie's
53) Carmine's Italian Restaurant
54) Carolina's Restaurant
55) Carrows Restaurant
56) Carrows Restaurant
57) Castle Catering
58) Centerplate
59) Chado Tea Room
60) Chan Dra Thai Restaurant
61) Cheesecake Factory
62) Chinatown Express
63) Chinese Gourmet Express
64) Chinese Gourmet Express
65) Church's Chicken
66) City Thai
67) Clearwater Seafood
68) Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
69) Cold Stone Creamery
70) Cold Stone Creamery
71) Colonel Sanders' Kentucky
72) Coniie's Restaurant
73) Cookies By Connie 1
74) Corner Bakery Cafe
75) Craig's Crew
76) Crocodile Cafe
77) Crown City Brewery
78) Cuerna Vaca
79) Delacey's Club 41
80) Delmonico's Seafood Grille
81) Derek's Bistro-Dickenson
82) Dining With Andre
83) Dinners Delivered
84) Domino's Pizza
85) Dusty's Cafe
86) Duxbury's Catering
87) E M Pizza Inc
88) El Arco Iris
89) El Cholo Pasadena
90) El Paiza Mexican Food
91) El Pollo Loco
92) El Pollo Loco
93) El Taquito Mexicano 2
94) El Toreo
95) Equator
96) Exploring Foods
97) Fair Oaks Pharmacy & Soda Fntn
98) Famous Spot
99) Fanta Sea Grill
100) Farfalla Trattoria Italiana
101) Father Nature's Cafe
102) Fidel's Pizza
103) Firefly
104) Fish Mama
105) Five Sixty One
106) Fortune Chinese Cuisine
107) Fred's Burgers
108) Fred's Mexican Cafe
109) Gale's
110) Gaucho Grill
111) Gerlach's Grill
112) Ghirardelli Soda Fountain
113) Gim
114) Golden China Restaurant
115) Goldstein's Bagel Bakery Inc
116) Good Times Pita Kitchen
117) Gooden' Delicious
118) Gordon Biersch Brewery Rstrnt
119) Grandview Palace Restaurant
120) Gus's Barbeque
121) Gus's Burgers
122) Hana Grill
123) Happy Trails Catering
124) Hawaiian BBQ Kitchen
125) Heart & Soul Cafe
126) Hermosillo Club
127) Hernan Sport Restaurant
128) Hey That's Amore
129) Hi Life Burgers
130) Highland Cultural Ctr
131) Hilton Pasadena
132) Himeko Chicken Marinated
133) HMS
134) Holly Street Bar & Grill
135) Hong Kong Express
136) Hooter's Restaurant
137) Hot Wings Cafe
138) Hottie Hot Dogs
139) Houston's Restaurant
140) Hurry Curry
141) Hutch's Barbecue
142) Il Fornaio
143) Inez Chicken
144) International Coffee & Tea
145) International House-Pancakes
146) Island Barbeque Grill & Deli
147) Islands
148) Italiano's Pizza
149) Italiano's Pizza
150) J J Steak House
151) Jack In The Box
152) Jade East Chinese Restaurant
153) Jake's Diner & Billiard Club
154) Jamba Juice
155) Johnny Rockets
156) Julius Pizza & Italian Cafe
157) Just Joe Inc
158) Kahala Hawaiian Grill
159) Kansai
160) Kfc
161) Kfc
162) King Taco Restaurant Inc
163) Kingston Cafe
164) Kitchen The Italian Cafe
165) Komeyoshi
166) Kuala Lumpur Malaysian Rstrnt
167) L & L Hawaiian Barbecue
168) La Bruschetta Italian Rstrnt
169) La Estrella
170) La Estrella Restaurant
171) La Estrella Restaurant
172) La Fiesta Grande
173) La Fornaretta Restaurant
174) LA Luce Cafe & Deli
175) La Luna Negra
176) La Mein Natural Noodles
177) Las Cazuelas
178) Le Cordon Bleu Culinary Arts
179) Lee's Diner & Fried Chicken
180) Little Cave
181) Los Primos
182) Los Tacos
183) Louise's Trattoria Inc
184) Lucky Baldwins
185) Lucky Boy Drive-In Restaurant
186) Luigi's Pizza
187) M S Link
188) Madres Restaurant
189) Mandarin Garden
190) Manny's Pizza & Subs
191) Margarita Jones Restaurant
192) Mario's Restaurant
193) Mariscos Sinaloa
194) Maritz's Restaurant
195) Maritza's Fast Food
196) Market City Caffe
197) Market City Enterprises
198) Marston's Restaurant
199) Mc Cormick & Schmick's
200) Mc Donald's
201) Mc Donald's
202) Mc Donald's
203) Mc Murphy's Restaurant
204) Metro Cafe
205) Mexcaltitan Restaurant
206) Mezbann Indian Cuisine
207) Mi Casa Mexican Fast Food
208) Mi Piace Italian Kitchen
209) Mi Piace Lounge
210) Michael's Steakhouse
211) Mijares Mexican Restaurant
212) Miyako Restaurants
213) Mojis Cafe
214) Monty's Steak House
215) Moose Mc Gillycuddy's
216) Mr T's Highland Park Coffee
217) Mrs Field's Tcby Bakery Cafe
218) Munch Co
219) My Lunch Box To Go
220) My Taco
221) Na Na Restaurant
222) Naya
223) Nonya Restaurant
224) O K Chinese Restaurant
225) Oaks On The Plaza
226) Oaktree Inn
227) Old Town Bakery & Restaurant
228) Old Town Cafe
229) Old Towne Pub LLC
230) Osaka
231) P F Chang's China Bistro
232) P J Sandwich
233) P R Pernecky Management Corp
234) Panda Express
235) Panda Management Co Inc
236) Papa John's Pizza
237) Pappa Don's Delicatessen
238) Parkway Grill
239) Patakan Thai Restaurant
240) Patakan-The Thai Restaurant
241) Paul's Chicago Dogs
242) Penny's Drive In Burgers
243) Philadelphia Connection
244) Phoenix Food Boutique
245) Pinocchio's Italian Kitchen
246) Pita Pita
247) Pita Pita Restaurant Co
248) Pizza Hut
249) Pizza Hut
250) Plaza Cafe
251) Premier Jewelry Mall
252) Pumpernickel Delicatessen
253) Quizno's Classic Subs
254) Quiznos Sub
255) Rack Shack
256) Radcliff Catering
257) Raj's New India Grill
258) Raymond Restaurant
259) Red Brick Pizza
260) Restaurant Zuque
261) Richard's Hofbrau
262) Rock Island Wraps & Coffee
263) Ron's Catering & Events
264) Rotisserie Chicken Of Calif
265) Round Table Pizza
266) Rubio's Baja Grill
267) Ruby's Diner
268) Ruchi's LLC
269) Russell's Stores
270) Saigon Noodle Restaurant
271) Saladang
272) Saladang Song
273) Salvador Divino
274) San Sai-Pasadena Japanese
275) Scarlet Tea Room
276) School Cafe
277) Second Cup Cafe
278) Senor Fish
279) Shaab Restaurant
280) Shaker's Restaurant
281) Shaker's Restaurant
282) Shiro Restaurant
283) Shubert's Cafe
284) Sitar Chain
285) Sizzler
286) Smith Brothers Restaurant Corp
287) So Calif Provision Workers
288) Soda Jerks
289) Solyazul Mexican Restaurant
290) Solyazul Mexican Restaurant
291) Sorriso Trattoria
292) South Lake Italian Kitchen
293) Spencers
294) Starbucks
295) Starbucks
296) Starbucks
297) Starbucks
298) Starbucks
299) Starbucks
300) Starbucks
301) Starbucks
302) Starbucks
303) Stoney Point Bar & Grill
304) Stoney Point Bar & Grill
305) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
306) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
307) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
308) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
309) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
310) Sun's Restaurant
311) Sunshine Cafe
312) Suria Thai
313) Suriya Thai Restaurant
314) Sushi Roku Pasadena
315) Taco Bell
316) Taco Par
317) Tacos El Michoacano
318) Tam's Junior Burger
319) Tarantino's Pizzeria Inc
320) Tempura Inn
321) Thai Dishes Restaurant
322) The Kitchen Italian Cafe and Pizzeria
323) Tibet Nepal House
324) Tiffany's Coffee
325) Tokoro Japanese Restaurant
326) Tokyo WAKO Restaurant
327) Tony's Restaurant
328) Tortas Mexico
329) Trattoria Tre Venezie
330) Trevos Restaurant
331) Tropical Caribbean
332) Tutti Gelati
333) Twin Palms Catering
334) Twin Palms Pasadena
335) Twin Palms Restaurant Mgmt Inc
336) Vero's Restaurant
337) Villa Sombrero
338) Villa Sorriso
339) Village Pizzaria
340) Villas Durango Restaurant
341) Vintage Cafe
342) Visco Ventures
343) Wahoo's Fish Taco
344) White Hut
345) Wienerschnitzel
346) Wild Hare Restaurant & Bar
347) Wild Thyme Cafe & Bakery
348) Wine Trek Inc
349) Wok N Roll
350) Wok N Roll
351) Xiomara Restaurant
352) Yard House
353) Yasmeen's Mediterranean Cuisin
354) Yoshinoya Beef Bowl
355) Yoshiz
356) Yujean Kang's Gourmet Chinese
357) Yum Yum Donuts
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I think this place went out of business...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Long Beach, CA
(11/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good So So
Went here with friends for the first time a few weeks ago. Let's just say we weren't too impressed. The establishment itself is very nice, with a fantastic oak circular bar and lots of TV's. That's about where the positives stop. We tried every beer they had, and all of them were disappointing. The Hef tasted stale, the pale ale tasted like mold and their "dark beer" (the waitress couldn't think of the name) was downright nasty. None of us finished a single pint, and that's saying a lot! The food was so so at best. This place is about 5 minutes away from my home and I can honestly say I will never be going back. With Gordon Biersch and Lucky Baldwin's within walking distance of this place, seriously, don't waste your time or taste buds.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Pasadena, CA
(12/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've notice that it's under ownership. I had a awesome experience at PBC. The service now is great. The in house brew beer taste good and cheap for like $1.75. Steve is a cool. I like the saturday karaoke night. It's really fun!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kaydee Kaydee, 206 N. Mariposa Ave, CA
(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So So So Awesome! Great
Okay I have been crusing the MicroBrew Circut of Los Angeles lately and this place has come across as a great mini corporate place.

The Atmosphere was good. The old wearhouse look with the open ceilings. Parking is across the street in a public parking area. The Patio is positioned wierd in an alley way but thats how old town Pasadena is set up.

The Food was way over priced for what it was. I think they over charge on the food to make up for the Happy Hour beer prices. I had the Smoked Salmone with Cream Cheese. It should have been served with rice as sushi instead of salad. I had to ask for wasabi to give it some flavor.

Ok Now the Beers which is what I normally go for. They had Four MicroBrews on the Menu but only Three on tap. They don't have Pale Ale's so if thats what your into don't bother coming down to this pub. They were out of the ESB so I had the Amber and the Stout. I am not into Heifewiez. The Amber was Excellent. The Happy Hour Prices were great only $1.75 per beer.

The Service Was Great. I got there at 4:00P.M. and the bar was ebpty. I got everyone helping me personally. The Bartender was great guy. The Host even pitched in to get my food mostly cause I think he was bored. The place started to fill up around 5:00P.M. but the waitresses seemed nice.

It needs something really special to atract more people. Like maybe a band. But it defenitly needs a Pale Ale for me to hang out here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
Did the sampler tour, and it was wonderful. One of the new places I liked every beer they had. The Maibock is spectacular. Great location, the interior of the bar is beautiful- loved the lighted marble on the bar. Bartended was fantastic. I recommened making a trip here if your in the SoCal area. I will definately be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(06/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Awesome! Good
great location in old pasadena. great service food was great but the only ale i did want to check out was the scottish but was off line. the esb was nice would like to check out the IPA next time its up.lose the hefe.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from O'B jr. O'B jr., torrance, CA
(06/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
Went there on a Sunday afternoon, nice clean place. They had 4 beers on tap, the best imho was what they called their "Scotch Ale". Not as strong or heavy as most traditional Scotch Ales, but very well balanced with hops and malt. A good session beer. The food was tasty and the staff was friendly and attentive, but being a sunday afternoon, it wasn't very crowded, will have to come back at a bussier time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Kochanowski Ed Kochanowski, Woodland Hills, CA
(05/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great Good
Bennett Ponder, the brewer, has departed for the Pacific Northwest. As a result of this move, somebody else is brewing and it shows. The ESB had a malt character that was too strong for the style. No pale, no stout. They did have a bock, but I really don't know enough about the style to comment. It may be that the new brewer is still trying to 'beat the brewhouse into a state of cooperation' but I hope that everything settles down and that a pale can be put on tap. Great staff and the food looked great, but the beer has suffered.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(04/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
They only had three beers on line, but all were excellent. First, no off flavors which is an immediate sign of strict cleanliness. Next, the beers: I'm not a "lite" drinker, but Bennet's lite was delicious--an excellent thirst-quencher on a hot day (it was in the 90's); the coffee/vanilla stout was rich, well-balanced, different, and delightfully drinkable; the IPA had a hint of citrus (grapefruit?) and was in full character as an IPA, also delicious. My qualifications as a beer critic: I lived in Germany for two years and learned to appreciate the best beers in the world there. I'm also a home brewer. We were there for lunch and had the slightly spicey ahi 'salad'/California roll which was amazing--a great combination of tastes. We were the third party in at lunch time, and not many came in after us, so the service was prompt and yet we never felt rushed. Our beers were served quickly (we started with small tasters for which we weren't charged). The food was also served on time, was the right temp, and the presentation was appealing. Oh....the decor and atmosphere were beautiful. We're going back on one of their beer nights.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from B. Cummins B. Cummins, West Covina, CA
(03/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I attended the special beer tasting on the 26th and enjoyed most of the selected imported beers. The house beers were great. I even made a black & tan with the house coffee stout and the house IPA, It's worth trying again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Thompson Tim Thompson, Pasadena, CA
(02/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
lousy service, apathetic waiters and waitreses. Hosteses more interested in talking to each other than serving the clients. cold food (wanted hot) & Flat beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jimmy altus jimmy altus, El Monte, CA
(02/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Lousy Lousy
So disappointed-beautiful decor, but got a weird waiter who told us right away that people had been sending back the hefeweizen. We tried both other kinds, each like something mixed w/dishsoap/diesel. Though the food was good, we wondered, how could they spend so much and not have had their brews down???? I am a big Pasadena booster and again, am so disappointed. May try again in a few months, but can't help but think this place is doomed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pasadena, CA
(01/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
What a waste of time and money. I can buy better beer out of a bottle and the place and service sucked.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pasadena, CA
(12/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good
Pasadena has recently changed brewers and I wanted to stop by and see what Bennet had on tap (NB: He came from Rockbottom @ the Irvine Spectrum). He had an IPA on tap that was on the mark for an IPA; not overly hopped and not as high gravity as some. Very nice. I also sampled the red and the stout. I'm really not a fan of reds so I can't give an honest comment on that style. The stout had a coffee / vanilla flavor to it. It clearly is an after dinner stout. I didn't sample the food as i was there mid-afternoon. The place is upscale with a beautiful alabaster (no fooling) bar top and plenty of cherry wood to set the tone. Worth another visit? Yes. Any downside would be the location as it is off on a side-street to Colorado Blvd. But once you find it, stop and enjoy the surroundings as well as the IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(12/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy
After being to 400 brewpubs, this place may rank as the worst I have ever been to. Let’s start with the service – slow, inattentive, angry, employees, who seemed far more interested in talking to each other than ever serving a customer. If these same people ran a hospital - we’d all be dead by now. 13 employees on the floor, 5 customers, that shouldn’t be a problem right? To get my only beer of the night, it took over ½ hour, and that was after I had to raise my voice to the bartender, who kept racing by my empty sampler glass.

The TVs – well my associate and I came in to watch the college football game. It was on when we arrived. But it appeared as if some idiot savant had gotten ahold of the remotes. The TV we were watching got turned off, turned back on, to the World Series, to our football game, turned back off, and finally to the World Series again. When we objected (not one other of the five customers was watching TV) they refused to change it. It amazes me how a packed Gordon Biersch, with lots of TV watchers found a way to get the game on for me after I walked out of this place, but these clowns couldn’t and wouldn’t do anything.

But we are here to discuss beer. And I think the lousy service may have been superior to the beer. If I were the brewmaster, I would refuse to work here – as the owners must dictate to make something like Bud Lite (Light) something like Heineken (Pale – yuk!) something like Killian’s (Red) and Hefeweizen (that lemon thing makes it stylish doesn’t it). These beers were painfully inferior, and were so formulaic, it wasn’t funny. For you Mr. Brewmaster, I will tell the three owners (Larry, Moe, and Curley?) “Let this guy brew!”. Thank God they had Craftsman IPA on tap – at least they know that their customers may not like their beer.

It pains me to write a negative review on a new brewpub. But brewpubs are often about attitude – friendly, collegial, fun places to be, with people that enjoy their work and customers who are brought into the “family”. This place is about attitude too – some of the worst attitude I have ever seen.

There is a name for a place where everyone just hangs around, talks among themselves, ignores outsiders, and serves bad beer – it’s called a frat party! So to the three owners – great move – you’ve flushed your money down the toilet. And to all of you reading this review – don’t waste your time here. Lucky Baldwin’s and Crown City have great beer and atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Southlake, TX
(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Just opened last month. There are 4 beers on tap ( light lager, pale, marzen, munich hefe) all good! The food is not average pub fare and is awsome. Happy Hour on the patio 24/7. Really unique atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrea Whitemaine Andrea Whitemaine, Newport Beach, CA
(10/13/2003)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.294 seconds) 13:00:38 54.226.230.76, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS