PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ropewalk Tavern - Bel Air, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 01, 2014 @ 02:31 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Bel Air > Ropewalk Tavern
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Ropewalk Tavern
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.3 / 100
[Closed - 2007]
117-119 South Main Street
Bel Air, MD 21014
United States
(410) 420-1392
Listed Since: March 2005
Last Updated: October 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bel Air, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
10 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Bill Bateman's Raw Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Sean Bolan's Irish Pub
(0 mile)

3) DuClaw Brewing Company
(3 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) OAKWOOD HARFORD COUNTY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bel Air Armory
2) Dibb House
3) Graham-Crocker House
4) Harford National Bank
5) Hays House
6) Hays-Heighe House
7) Joshua's Meadows
8) Little Falls Meetinghouse
9) McComas Institute
10) Odd Fellows Lodge
11) Proctor House
12) St. Ignatius Church
13) St. Mary's Church
14) Thomas Run Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) American Ice Box
3) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
4) Bill Bateman's Raw Bar & Grill
5) Boardwalk Fries
6) Bombay Grill
7) Boston Market
8) Broccolo's Inc
9) Bubba's Breakaway
10) Buontempo Brothers Pizza
11) Burger King
12) C R Wings
13) Cactus Willies Belair
14) Cafe Florentina
15) Carl's Catering
16) Chicken Kithcen
17) Chili's Grill & Bar
18) China King Buffet Inc
19) China Queen Buffet
20) Cold Stone Creamery Of Bel Air
21) Cutting Edge Pizza LLC
22) Dairy Queen
23) De Danan Coffee & Tea
24) Dead Freddies
25) Deano's Pizza Inc
26) Depalma Cafe & Deli
27) Domino's Pizza
28) Double T Diner
29) Fortunato Brothers
30) Fortunato Brothers Pizza
31) Friendly's Restaurant
32) Friendly's Restaurant
33) Georgetown North Inc
34) Golden Bowl
35) Golden Szechuan Inn
36) Gourmet Grille
37) Greek Village Restaurant
38) Hickory Station Pizzeria
39) Hing Wah Chinese Carryout
40) Hong Kong Restaurant
41) Italian Sensation Inc
42) Jerry's Subs & Pizza
43) Kfc
44) Kim Wah
45) LA Tolteca
46) Main Street Tower Restaurant
47) Manny's Family Restaurant
48) Maria's Carry Out
49) Maria's Carry Out
50) Mc Donald's
51) Mc Donald's
52) Mo's Seafood Restaurant
53) Ocean City Fries & Burgers
54) Original Maria's North
55) Outback Steakhouse
56) P & D Pistorio Ice Cream Co
57) Pat's Pizzeria Inc
58) Peppi's Meat Store
59) Pizza Hut
60) Pizza Hut
61) Pizzeria Uno
62) Pretzel Twister
63) Quiznos Sub
64) Red Lobster Restaurant
65) Red Pump Cafe
66) Rincon Espanol
67) Roy Rogers Family Restaurant
68) Ruby Tuesday
69) Sakura Japanese Steak/Seafood
70) Savona Fine Italian Foods & Wn
71) Sean Bolan's Irish Pub
72) Serio's Pizza
73) Silver Palace
74) Silver Spring Mining Co
75) Sino Wok
76) Starbucks
77) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
78) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
79) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
80) Sunshine Cafe
81) Swiss Pretzel Shops Inc
82) Taco Bell
83) Tamberino's Pizza & Subs
84) Tea By Two Inc
85) TGI Friday's
86) Thomas Street Cafe
87) Tully's 2
88) Uncle George's
89) Uncle George's
90) Vespucci's Cafe
91) Villa Pizza
92) Waffle House
93) Wendy's
94) William A Harloe Corp
95) Wok To Go
96) Young China Carryout
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place closed due to many violations of liquor laws/fights etc. Its now a Green Turtle. Good ridence!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City, MD
(09/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is AWESOME! It even outranks Fedral Hill Ropewalk----Well maybe. One of the only great restaurants in Bel Air. No more chains. this place make dining in Bel Air the only spot to be. Besides waiting an hour --the perfect meal-- finished with a yards washington porter. Simply Awesome!!!!

How come you can't rate Federal Hill???

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Ziller Brian Ziller, baltimore, MD
(12/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Not sure where you went, but Ropewalk is the only place in Bel Air. Unlike the city it's hard to find anywhere up here in the north worth going to. Ropewalk has the best food and over 100 beers. No where within miles even has beer worth talking about. This is also the largest place in town with real character instead of fake brick and other fake decor. ROPEWALK IS THE BEST PLACE BY FAR!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T Kuhnfeltzer T Kuhnfeltzer, Bel Air, MD
(11/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy N/A Lousy So So
I had heard good things about the Ropewalk and judging from the other reviews, I think we happened to get there on a bad night. The service was some of the worst I had ever experienced. Tables weren't bussed, servers were nowhere to be found and when we did finally order, it was hard to find a draft beer they weren't out of. The atmosphere was good and there was live music so perhaps with a new set of lower expectations, I'll venture in there again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cara Cara, Gresham, OR
(09/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Good
Maybe hitting them on a Monday evening is a bad idea; the barstaff could barely be bothered to attend to me. Place has a large selection of taps and bottles, but skewed pretty well towards mass market (though I did find a Belgian stashed away). Still pretty good in comparison with most American bars, but they could try a bit harder.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Ropewalk's Bison is amazing. The beers would be the sam except I am use to Ropewalk Federal Hill where they have hundreds of choices. Bel air has about 100 types. They are great, but Fed Hill is better on that point. Steve our server could not have been better and the owner even visited our table. This is my favorite restaurant in Maryland. My wife loved her salmon. The Otter Creek Ale is wonderful and Anchor Christmas tasted like it was just brewed. The Civil war building is incredible. The expansion may not have the 1700's warehouse Federal Hill has, but it looks very similar with rough cut joists and heavy plank lumber. I give Federal Hill best bar and Bel Air Best restaurant. Only MaGarveys of Annapolis can compete, and maybe John Stevens of Fells Point. Ropewalk is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Satish Parekh Satish Parekh, Baltimore, MD
(11/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Ropewalk in Federal Hill use to be my favorite hangout, but now I live in Bel Air and Ropewalk Bel Air is Awesome! They have great bands like JAH WORKS and Crushing Day. I also here Ropewalk is opening in Carroll County??

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M Coughlan M Coughlan, Bel Air and Baltimore, MD
(09/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Food was great. service was really good, but the place was packed and staff was running everywhere. They told us 2 hours until a table. It TOOK almost that long. Bison and Salmon were EXCELLENT!!! Degroens, Yards and the rooftop deck made the wait great, but the food made the whole trip even better. Later that night the place turned into a packed mob with a good band, but we headed to Sean Bolans.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T Brinkley T Brinkley, Ellicot City, MD
(06/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Best seafood anywhere. Yards, WildGoose, Otter Creek on tap 24 total Great deck!!!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Stachowski Steve Stachowski, elkridge, MD
(04/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Was looking for the Sean Bolan's location in Bel Air, and found myself parked directly in front of the Ropewalk. I've heard a lot about the Ropewalk in Baltimore on Charles St., so I thought it would be a good thing to stop inside and check this location out. A pleasant brick/wood interior with the bar immediately inside. I counted 24 taps, 20 of which were of good quality micros or imports. Yards Ale, Yards Porter, Magic Hat, Anchor Liberty Ale and Murphy's Stout were just but a few of their offerings. I had the porter--excellent. Their menu listed 60+ bottles of equal type and quality. The bar had a good variety of spirits. I wasn't very hungry, so I opted for a bowl of the cream of crab soup--lump crab/sherry; tasty. Service was OK; seemed as though they had been slammed for lunch and were catching their breath. A game room with pool tables, etc. is adjacent to the bar area. Seems as though Bel Air is turning into a good stop for beer lovers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/31/2005)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.254 seconds) 02:31:02 54.89.94.159, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS