PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


San Tan Brewing Company - Chandler, AZ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 19, 2014 @ 06:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AZ > Chandler > San Tan Brewing Company
San Tan Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
San Tan Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 72.2 / 100
8 South San Marcos Plaza
Chandler, AZ 85225
United States
(480) 917-8700
Listed Since: October 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Chandler, AZ
Beer Guide for Arizona

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
9 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Fox and Hound Pub and Grille
(2 miles)

2) Whole Foods Market-Chandler
(3 miles)

3) Buffalo Wings and Rings
(3 miles)

4) Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant
(4 miles)

5) Old Chicago
(5 miles)

6) Hollywood Alley
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN DOBSON RANCH INN
2) BEST WESTERN INN OF CHANDLER
3) DAYS INN MESA
4) FAIRFIELD INN PHOENIX MESA
5) HAMPTON INN MESA
6) HILTON PHOENIX EAST IN MESA
7) HOMESTEAD PHOENIX EAST MESA
8) LA QUINTA INN & SUITES - MESA
9) OAKWOOD CENTRAL CHANDLER
10) OAKWOOD SOUTH CHANDLER
11) OLIVE GROVE APARTMENTS
12) SUPER8 PHOENIX MESA GILBRT RD
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Chandler Commercial Historic District
2) Gilbert Elementary School
3) San Marcos Hotel
4) Suhwaro Hotel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 98 South
2) A J's Cafe
3) A J's Restaurant
4) Arby's
5) Arizona Roadhouse Restaurant
6) Baja Fresh
7) Better Than Sex Cake Cafe
8) Big Bunny Ice Cream
9) Bistro Asia
10) Brunchies
11) Burger King
12) Cabers
13) Cathy's Rum Cake Catering
14) Charo's
15) China Star Of Chandler
16) Chopstixx Asian Eatery
17) Church's Chicken
18) Chuy's Mesquite Broiler
19) Cold Stone Creamery
20) Cousins Subs
21) Cupid Hotdog
22) Dairy Queen
23) Del Taco
24) Domino's Pizza
25) Don Jose Taqueria
26) Draft House Sports Cafe
27) El Coyote Sports Bar
28) El Pollo Loco
29) El Taquito
30) El Zocalo Mexican Grill
31) Elmer's Tacos
32) Fazoli's
33) First Round Draft
34) Flavors Of Nature Cafe
35) Flor De Michoacan
36) Gilberto's Tacos
37) Golden Chopsticks
38) Golden Magic Wok
39) Grand China
40) Guedo's Taco Shop
41) Higher Grounds Management Corp
42) Hogi Yogi
43) Hoosier's Cafe
44) J B's Restaurant
45) Jack In The Box
46) Jack In The Box
47) Jack In The Box
48) Java Spot
49) Justin's Buffalo St Grille
50) Kfc
51) Kfc
52) LA Parrilla Mexican Food
53) LA Stalla Cucina Rustica
54) Little Caesars Pizza
55) Long John Silver's
56) Long-Wongs
57) Los Armandos
58) Los Favoritos
59) Martinez Mexican Food
60) Max & Ted's 480
61) Mc Donald's
62) Mc Donald's
63) Mc Donald's
64) Mi Linda's Restaurant
65) New York Bagel Cafe
66) New York Burrito Gourmet Wraps
67) Nonno Nino's Italian Food
68) North Shore Hawaiian Grill
69) Pacific Sea Food Buffet
70) Papa John's Pizza
71) Patty's Pantry
72) Pecos Lounge
73) Perkins Family Restaurant
74) Pick Up Stix
75) Pirate's Fish & Chips
76) Pizza Hut
77) Pizza Hut
78) Pizza Patron
79) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
80) Quiznos Sub
81) Razzleberries Restaurant
82) Red Poppy
83) Robert's Catering Inc
84) Rosalee's Italian Restaurant
85) Rosati's Pizza
86) Rubio's Baja Grill
87) Saddlerack
88) Serrano's Mexican Food Rstrnts
89) Sideburns Restaurant
90) Sub One Enterprises
91) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
92) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
93) Taco Bell
94) Taco Bell
95) Taco Bell
96) Tom's Chicago Style B-B-Q
97) Tres Sombrero's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Parking was no problem; but I was there at 3:30 on a Friday afternoon. Maybe at night it's a little tight but not for me. We parked right in front. The waitperson was fantastic. She obviously had been there since their opening or had been well trained. She knew the hops in the IPA and also of the hop shortage last year. The IPA is great. So is the Stout. I also had the chips and 3-dip. Guacomole and salsa are great, lots of garlic in the salsa. The cheez-wiz type dip, not for me. Definitely worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(11/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I just returned from San Tan & had a great time. I'm an IPA drinker so the Hopshock was my choice. I thought it was a good version. I also ordered some food. The waiter helped me decide with the Brat sandwich. It was boiled in Hef & wrapped in Beer bread. I thought it was a hit! I don't know why the previous reviews stated that the service was bad because my waiter was on top of keeping my pint glass full the entire time. I would have to say it was a good experience and I look forward to returning to their establishment in the near future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Lentz David Lentz, Corona, CA
(09/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good
San Tan is right smack in the middle of a touristy street in Chandler. While this is nice for people watching from the tables on the patio, it attracts the type of crowd from which I try to hide by going to local brewpubs. The live music was way too loud causing the entire front half of the bar to be empty and packing everyone else in the rest of the space. Our server paid little attention to us, and we even had to remind him that we had ordered beers a couple times. My local friends tell me this is typical of their staff.

I sampled all of their beers on tap. The Sunspot Gold was watery and tasteless, the Hef tasted like banana Koolaid, and the Big Red Pale Ale is a very confused beer. They were out of the IPA which was a huge disappointment. The seasonal was a Spring Ale at 8.6%, and I expected a lot more from it. It tasted exactly like the Big Red and had none of the taste or feel of a higher alcohol beer. The Oscuro was by far the best of the bunch - fairly smooth with decent malt flavor. The Gordo Stout was OK, but a little light on flavor and finish. The food - I think they are trying too hard. I had the Philly which is served on a wrap-style Beer Bread. There was so much sauce on it that I'm still not sure if there was any meat. I'll skip this one next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from joe schmitz joe schmitz, portland, OR
(05/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy So So
Beer: IPA has good aroma, hoppy taste, but disappers quickly. The Golden Pilsener was crap...bad beer. The SanTan Pale Ale was a standard ale - nothing special Beer Selection: Six choices, not great Food: Average at best. Burger (requested medium) was served as a hockey puck. The chicken sandwich was bland and the tacos were average. Nothing special here. They were out of the crab cakes... Service: Nice waiter, bad service. He knew it was our first time at the establishment. He never asked what we thought of the beers or what our taste in beer was so he could make a recommendation. Our main meal came out at different intervals. Our glasses were often empty waiting to be refreshed. Ambience: Good layout, outdoor smoking area with plenty of seating as well as bar seating. Crowded on a Wednesday night. Mixed crowd. Overall: An average restaurant that brews average beer. Four Peaks in Tempe is still the class of brew pubs in the Valley

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DAVE DAVE, Chandler, AZ
(02/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
We managed to get through the entire beer selection, with the exception of the winter ale (that had temporarily replaced the SanTan Pale). Certainly the weakest was the Sunspot Gold. We didn't bother finishing it as life is too short to drink mediocre beer. The Hefeweizen was OK, but was way too sweet/fruity. The IPA was very hoppy and had a great aroma, so if you're an IPA fan this is the one for you. The Oscuro was a nice, smooth, very drinkable beer. Finally, the Gordo Stout was a great way to finish off the evening--distinctive smooth taste and texture. The food was really quite good and it made for a fun evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Phoenix, AZ
(01/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
This place has been open now for just about 15 weeks! I had the pleasure of checking it out on a weekday, late in the afternoon. The bartender, James, filled me in on the back story of the place and offered me a fine selection of their brews as well as a some suggestions from their menu. The beers are served in handblown 18oz. beer glasses with a most unique shape & design; a must see! The Obscura Brown is my favorite thus far & is amazingly smooth! Plus, their sliders from the appetizer section were definitely the best I've ever had! I finished with their stout which is from a nitrogen tap and went down as smoothly as it was poured! I look forward to a return visit to sample some of their other brews on tap!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gina Mann Gina Mann, Deptford, NJ
(01/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
Well, I have a bit of a different take on this place than the first reviewer. I was impressed by the beer. The Obscura especially was a very solid offering. As the brewery is so new, several beer options were not yet available the two times I went, most notable their Pale Ale was not to be had. The food menu, similarly, is limited to a few bar stand-bys as they get the kitchen fully up and running. I have high hopes for this place, but they need to resolve some issues with their servers.

The biggest negative I have with this place is that their servers seem more interested in socializing among themselves and their off-duty coworkers, than attending to paying customers. I had to wait more than 15 minutes for a beer (on a pretty slow night) because the bartender was talking it up with an off-duty employee (still in uniform) who was drinking at the bar. I expect that these issues will get worked out as they start weeding out the bad seeds.

In summary, the beer and prices are good enough to bring me back. If the food and service improve, I'll start recommending this place to others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Phoenix, AZ
(10/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Great Good
Wow! Looks like I have the responsibility of reviewing SanTan first. Thats quite a responsibility!

Decided to check this place out since its the new microbrewery in town. I wasnt very impressed with the beer. They had a stout that didnt have much body and had an odd taste I couldnt identify, and their HopShock IPA was somewhat forgettable. The Oscuro brown beer was worthwhile, but certainly not as good as most of the craft beers you can buy at the supermarket.

The only have four beers, and three guest beers. I felt that was very limited. The bartender told me that they dont intend on having seasonals or specials. Thats really a pity but I guess thats OK if you are into guest beers.

I didnt have the bar food but from what I saw it wasnt worth ordering. It all looked out of a bag or the microwave.

The atmosphere was OK but nothing special. It has that typical old warehouse look but is basically a box in a strip mall. My guess is that the beers will improve because their brewmaster is from Four Peaks. He probably knows what he is doing but may need time to get the processes right. Their selection could use improvement by having some seasonals.

I wasnt impressed enough to come back soon. Better to give them some time to improve.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RobSanz RobSanz, Chandler, AZ
(10/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy Lousy
San Tan opened on 9/22/07, so this review is for the first week of operation. I will try to update again 6 months. The décor sucked. The whole place is designed to be loud. With the place only ½ full, we could not hold a conversation between two people without raising our voices. The food is typical pub fare. We had the mushroom appetizer. Skip this unless you are looking to be ripped off - $8 for five small stuffed mushrooms. The other food coming out of the kitchen looked OK, but nothing on the menu said, We can think outside the beer bar box.

Beer: During opening week, they did not have the two brews I was planning on trying  the Hefe and the Pale Ale. We did try the remaining four brews. The Sunspot Gold (SG) is the lightest selection. Budweiser at a NASCAR race tastes better than the SG. At least I can tell when I am drinking a Budweiser. SG was totally flavorless and forgettable. Drink ice tea instead. The Oscuro is an amber lager. First, it was not amber in color. Second, like the SG, it was mostly flavorless. I say mostly because if I swished the stuff around like mouthwash, I could detect the faint flavor of beer. The Gordo Stout should be renamed the Gordo Pleasantly Plumb. Stout it was not. While the Gordo did have a nice front of the mouth taste, it failed to finish in the back of the mouth. Disappointing. The only pleasant note was the Hopshock IPA. It was hugely hoppy typical of the American IPA. I would recommend this beer to IPA drinkers.

Overall, I recommend waiting 6 months for this place to mature. I think they need at least 3-4 brewing cycles before they get their beers to a drinkable state.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from NASCAR wife NASCAR wife, Phoenix, Az
(10/01/2007)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.248 seconds) 06:48:00 54.81.134.175, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS