PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Royal Oak Brewery - Royal Oak, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 20, 2014 @ 08:20 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Royal Oak > Royal Oak Brewery
Royal Oak Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Royal Oak Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75.5 / 100
215 East Fourth Street
Royal Oak, MI 48067
United States
(248) 544-1141
Listed Since: July 1996
Last Updated: May 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Royal Oak, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Royal Oak Brewery
66 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Lily's Seafood Grill and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Bastone
(0 mile)

3) Woodward Avenue Brewery
(2 miles)

4) Berkley Front
(3 miles)

5) Black Lotus Brewing Company
(3 miles)

6) Spectadium
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN TROY MADISON INN
2) COMFORT SUITES WARREN
3) COURTYARD TROY
4) DRURY INN & SUITES TROY
5) ECONO LODGE MADISON
6) EXTENDEDSTAY MADISON HEIGHTS
7) FAIRFIELD INN MADISON HEIGHTS
8) LA CASA INN & SUITES
9) OAKWOOD MADISON HEIGHTS
10) OAKWOOD TROY
11) RED ROOF DETROIT MADISON HEIGHT
12) RED ROOF DETROIT TROY
13) REGENTS PARK
14) SOMERSET INN
15) SUPER 8 CLAWSONTROY DETROIT
16) TRAVELODGE ROYAL OAK
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Brooks Farm
2) Derby Street--Grand Trunk Western Railroad Bridge
3) Grand Trunk Western Railroad Birmingham Depot
4) Michigan State Fair Riding Coliseum, Dairy Cattle Building, and Agricultural Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 317 Cafe Calypso
2) Al/Raushee
3) Albanos Cafe
4) Andiamo
5) Anna's Coffee Shoppe
6) Avenue Deli
7) B D's Mongolian Barbecue
8) Baskin-Robbins
9) Baskin-Robbins
10) Bastone
11) Beirut Palace Of Royal Oak
12) Benitos Pizza
13) Blarney Stone Pub
14) Boocoo
15) Boodles Restaurant
16) Boston Market
17) Buddy's Pizza
18) Burger King
19) Burger King
20) Cafe 317
21) Caribou Coffee Co
22) Cedar Garden
23) Chic-N-Ribs By Miles
24) Cold Stone Creamery
25) Comedy Castle
26) Comet Burgers
27) Corner Coney
28) Cottage Inn Pizza
29) Custard & Co Inc
30) D Amatos Neighborhood Rstrnt
31) D'amato's Neighborhood Restrnt
32) Dairy Queen
33) Deli Delite
34) Delia's
35) Denny's
36) Duggans
37) Durango Grill
38) Eclectic Elegance
39) Expresso & Cream
40) Ferndale Coney Island
41) Fiddleheads Restaurant
42) Fifth Avenue Billiards
43) Four Green Fields
44) French Gourmet
45) Friends Family Dining
46) Fuddruckers
47) Gelato Roma
48) Grille 173
49) Gus's Kitchen
50) Gusoline Alley
51) Hi-Tops Ten & One Half
52) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
53) Inn Place Bar & Grill
54) Inn Season Natural Food Cafe
55) International House Of Pancake
56) J J Brown's Restaurant LLC
57) J R's Pizza & Southwestern
58) Java Mountain Coffee Bar
59) Jim's Frostie Treats
60) Jimi's Ice Cream Pallis
61) Jimi's Restaurant
62) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
63) Katana Japanese Steakhouse Inc
64) King Wok
65) La Fondue Restaurant
66) Larry's Coney Island Rstrnt
67) Leo's Coney Island
68) Leo's Coney Island
69) Lepanto
70) Lily's Seafood Grill
71) Little Caesars Pizza
72) Little Caesars Pizza
73) Little Tree Sushi Bar
74) Luna Lounge
75) Main Street Diner
76) Marcus Hamburger Family Rstrnt
77) Margarita's Cafetal
78) Marinelli's Restaurant
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Memphis Smoke
82) Millie's
83) Monterrey Cantina
84) Monty's Grill
85) Mr B's Pub Inc
86) Mr Pita
87) National Coney Island Inc
88) Neighbors Dairy Bar & Grill
89) Nello's Eatery
90) Nikis Restaurant
91) Noodles & Co
92) Noodles & Co
93) O M Cafe
94) O'Tooles
95) Oliver's Pizza
96) Omega Grub Station
97) Onion Roll
98) Oxford Inn
99) Papa Romano's
100) Papa Romano's
101) Peking House
102) Phileen Inc
103) Pizza Hut
104) Pizza Hut
105) Pizza Paesano
106) Potbelly's Sandwich Works
107) Primo Pizza
108) Pronto Catering
109) Qdoba Mexican Grill
110) R & J Coffee Shop
111) Rallo's Pizza
112) Restaurant Connection
113) Rexy's Bangkok Cuisine
114) Rock
115) Roma Pizza & Grinders
116) Royal Cafe
117) Royal Oak Brewery
118) Royal Oak Music Theatre
119) Rumors
120) Sangria
121) Second Street Sub Shop
122) Seros Restaurant
123) Sign Of The Beefcarver
124) Spice Of Thai Express
125) Stan's Carryout
126) Starbucks
127) Starbucks
128) Steinborn Benno
129) Stucchi's Ice Cream & Frozen
130) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
131) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
132) Sullivan Investments
133) Sweet Waters
134) Taco Bell
135) Tania's Pizza & Party Store
136) Tasi Juice Bar
137) Thai Cafe
138) Thai On Main
139) Tim Hortons
140) Tokyo Sushi & Grill
141) Tom's Oyster Bar Royal Oak Inc
142) Tubby's Sub Shop
143) Two Guys From Italy
144) Vinsetta Grill
145) Warrilow's Bar
146) Wendy's
147) Williams Restaurants Inc
148) Wong's Cantonese Food Carry
149) Woodruff's
150) Woody's Diner
151) Ye Olde Saloon
152) Young's Chinese Food Carry-Out
153) Zumba Mexican Grille
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
Went in on a saturday and had the sampler along with a couple of appetizers. The beer was good, I would say that the amber in this case was my favorite. I'll go again because I was there for a game and it was packed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ypsilanti, MI
(12/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Probably the weakest of the Royal Oak trifecta that I visited. Summerzest a really mild wit--refreshing. ESB pleasant--I could have stuck withthis one for a while. Red pedestrian, doesn't seal the deal. Pappy's Porter had a good flavor, just not enough of it. IPA would be at most places, a decent Pale Ale. Nees to ratchet it up a bit for an IPA. Had the jambalaya--it was good, but disappointing when the menu says it has "shrimp", I guess I forgot that word isn't always plural.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
SORT OF LIKE GOING TO THE SEQUEL. IT CAN NEVER MEASURE UP TO THE ORIGINAL. I WAS EXPECTING SO MUCH MORE AFTER VISITING THE DETROIT BREWING COMPANY SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST. NICE SELECTION BUT NOTHING REALLY STOOD OUT LIKE LILY'S AND BLACK LOTUS.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(05/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I'm not sure what evryone is complaining about. I had great service at the Royal Oak. I suppose on any given day, anywhere, you can get bad service, though. Any way, I was in town and I heard the city of Royal Oak had an abundance of microbreweries. I decided on the one with the home town name. I sat at the bar, and both bartenders took excellent care of me. Although the one seemed to be a little unfriendly, she never let my beer run out. The choices of beers were really good, especially the seasonals. I had the pizza and it was not to bad, either. I would definately go back if I'm in the area again. They also have a bar and dining area outside that looked pretty nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dave dave, verona, WI
(08/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy So So
the beer is decent but not special by any means. the food is pretty good, though, and was a good value. we sat at the bar and the service was really bad. the lady barkeep was basically rude and seemed irritated that she had to service us. worse, she completly dumped a beer all over me and then said that if i didn't want a beer in my lap then i shouldn't sit at the bar. no plans to return as i like the woodward ave brewery a couple miles down the road.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sirraffles sirraffles, pleasant ridge, MI
(06/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Usually PACKED on the weekend, the ROB does offer some pretty good beers and the food can be good. I'm not blown away by either, but I can't say that I leave overly disappointed either. There have been a lot of brewpubs that have opened in the last 10 years and most of them kind of end up kind of tasting the same. I hate to say it about this one, but it is true. It's even difficult to distinguish between their supposedly different offerings sometimes. With that said I have had some nice evenings out in their little beer garden and it's a nice end to a day hanging out in Royal Oak.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Casey Casey, Ferndale, MI
(03/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good
Just a great all around brewpub. Cool set up on the inside, nice big bar. Beers were tasty and varied. I will have to agree however that unless your a regular, be prepared to be passed by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
I went here a couple times in the last few weeks, both times were good.. Service was a little on the slow side, but the atmosphere & the beer made up for that. Good local place that I will be sure to visit again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shelley Shelley, Waterford, MI
(11/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Second time to Royal Oak. Second they hit a home run on beer selection, menu and service. Stop in and tell Sally I said hi!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank J. Russo Frank J. Russo, Detroit, MI
(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
The beer and the look of the place are the strong points. The food is average and the wait staff acts like they would rather be some place else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john stempin john stempin, Huntington Woods, MI
(01/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Good
I only had the anaversary ale and it was great... If the rest of the beers are this good then they are ok....

Service needs a little help. If you are not a regular they sort of just look the other way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Pfeiffer Don Pfeiffer, Toledo, OH
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(09/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Great news (since my last review..see below), Patrick has taken over the brewing at Royal Oak (he's an owner too). Patrick will certainly have this place back asap, making it a definite destination for great beer. My only concern is that I hope the quality of the beer at the Detroit Beer Company (Patrick's other place where he was the brewmaster) stays great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Rich, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
(04/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great Good
I've been going to the Royal Oak Brewery for years. My last visit was quite strange. I ordered a red, which is usually very tasty. What I got was one that with a real hoppy taste and not very malty at all. I then went for my other standby beer, the ESB. It looked like a light style and when I asked the waitress if it was the ESB, she said yes and quickly walked away. It didn't taste anything like their ESB. Thinking that Mike (the brewmaster) had an off day brewing, I paid my bill and left. The next week, I ran into Mike at another beer establishment and found that he had left ROB a couple months ago. Wow, I will not be returning to ROB with their current brewer. Go to the Detroit Beer Company, owned by the same folks with the same food menu. Their brewmaster is excellent!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Rich, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
(04/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The food is great and the beer was awsome. Drew is HOT, a must see in Michigan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jeralds Jason Jeralds, Ladera Ranch, CA
(11/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kasey Wray Kasey Wray, Royal Oak, MI
(09/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is actually a review for the brand new Detroit Beer Company that opened Sat Sept 6, 2003 and is owned by the Royal Oak Brewery people. My fiance and I were the first costomers when they opened at 5pm. We felt like royalty as we escorted to our table. The Detroit (Royal Oak) Red was outstanding as well as the Thai Chicken Pizza. My only issue is that The Rob and the DBC needs more variety in beers. That being said the beer and food at both places is outstanding. When in Detroit go here...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bradki45 Bradki45, Ferndale, MI
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I had the ESB with some chips & cheese. They were both excellent. I believe they had 5 beers on tap, nothing besides their regular brews at the time I went, and they were all out of the Red. The atmosphere was good, it's a little on the noisy side...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So So So Lousy Good
The beer was decent, but they didn't have much of a selection for a hophead like me. The closest thing to a hoppy beer was the ESB. The beer is all decent. My server totally sucked though - I mean, how hard is it when I'm sitting at the bar? The food was marginal - not the same spent grain pizza that I remembered from years ago....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from wopbopaloobopalopbambrew wopbopaloobopalopbambrew, Atlanta, GA
(07/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
Would like to see more variations in the styles of beer. Love the IPA and ESB. Great place to have a few in non peak Royal Oak hours. Been in the mug club since the day it started and will renew as long as my liver holds out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mugger number four mugger number four, Royal Oak, MI
(06/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We go here at least once a month. The beer is outstanding. The food and service as well. This is, without a dobut, one of my two favorite pubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kristin, Rochester Hills, MI
(05/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
We have been going here since it opened and have never had a bad beer or food. The service has always been great,also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Debbie, Royal Oak, MI
(03/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
We have been going here since it opened and have never had a bad beer or food. The service has always been great,also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Debbie, Royal Oak, MI
(03/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Detroit, MI
(03/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
I am a clam chowder fanatic. (San Francisco, Boston, Bangor Maine, London, England, Seattle, ETC ) I try them all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Victor, Grosse Pointe, MI
(03/03/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.958 seconds) 08:20:45 54.204.182.118, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS