PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Elm City Brewing Company - Keene, NH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 21, 2014 @ 05:49 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NH > Keene > Elm City Brewing Company
Elm City Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Elm City Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79.7 / 100
222 West Street
Colony Mill Market Place
Keene, NH 03431
United States
(603) 355-3335
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: February 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Keene, NH
Beer Guide for New Hampshire

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
36 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 10:00AM - 70:0PM
Mon 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Penuche's Ale House
(0 mile)

2) Kilkenny Pub
(0 mile)

3) McCue's Billiards and Sports Lounge
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Carriage Barn Guest Room
2) Goose Pond Guest House
3) Post & Beam Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN SOVEREIGN HOTEL
2) E F LANE HOTEL
3) SUPER 8 KEENE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Adams, Dr. Daniel, House
2) Beaver Mills
3) Cheshire County Courthouse
4) Colony's Block
5) Dinsmoor--Hale House
6) Elliot Mansion
7) Fiske, Catherine, Seminary For Young Ladies
8) Gilsum Stone Arch Bridge
9) Grace United Methodist Church
10) Mason--Watkins House
11) Sawyer Tavern
12) United Church of Christ in Keene
13) Wyman Tavern
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amicci's Italian Pizza
2) Armadillo's Burritos
3) Back Bay Deli
4) Beaver Street Market Inc
5) Boston Market
6) Brewbakers
7) Chili's Grill & Bar
8) City Tap & Table
9) Colorado Steak House
10) Dark Star Pub
11) Dunkin Donuts
12) Elm Street Market
13) Feng Tong Chinese Kitchen
14) Fritz Belgian Fries
15) Hors D'Oeuvres Unltd
16) Hot Stuff Pizza
17) India Pavillion
18) Kali's Sports Pub
19) Lab n' Lager
20) Lee & Mt Fuji At Mill
21) Ninety Nine Restaurant & Pub
22) Olive Garden
23) Penuche's Ale House
24) Piazza
25) Pizza Down Under
26) Pizza Market
27) Pizza Palace
28) Pride Certified Svc Ctr
29) Railroad Tavern
30) Rick's Gourmet Ice Cream
31) Rocky Brook Motel
32) Rynborn Restaurant & Blues Clb
33) Starbucks
34) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
35) Twenty One Bar & Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great pub atmosphere. I would have given a better mark on the beer, but i had to average it. Some of it is awesome, some not so much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lou Lou, Walpole, NH
(10/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Pothole Porter......there are no words to properly describe how excellent this beer is. Pair it up with a basket of their onion rings and you will have and outing you will never forget!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Gary, Winchester, NH
(09/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good N/A Awesome!
There aren't enough Bill Dunn's the brewer. OK so he didn't have three beers on tap with 100 IBU's (a chili - oh wow oh wow, and a pilsner??) due to the hop shortage but all his beers are tasty (smoked porter is a must) and he follows the tradition of having guests beers as do other breweries of excellence such as Mountain Sun in Boulder. He uses his drinkers to judge beers - not competitions which is very sound as a concept but a pity as then I could taste his beer at the GABF. His smoked porter got my attention and I ignored the obligatory fruit beer. This is a destination brewery due to this having one of the brewing greats - and I know many brewers. Lovely town with a superb raconteur brewer. Where was my recorder when I needed it? One quote after another. When asked for a XXXX lite "do you want that in the bottle or in the can?"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Bruce Geoff Bruce, Arvada, CO
(05/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We stopped in today for lunch when going through the area. We had two samplers which covered all 8 beers on tap. I liked 4 of them while my husband (the real beer drinker) liked all 8. My favorite was the raspberry. We had simple sandwiches but they were very good. Service was quick and friendly. Brew master stopped by our table to say hi. We were very pleased and will defininitely go again. We understand they are always changing their beers so we look forward to trying new ones on next visit. Go and enjoy!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marge Marge, Lochmere, NH
(04/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
All of the beers were weak/thin except for the No Name IPA. Food and service were excellent. Nice ambiance. Would return on next trip through area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Larry, clifton park, NY
(01/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy So So
Service is very bad when they are busy. This bar is primarily a college bar except for weekday lunch, which would be OK except for the bad service and noise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Keene, NH
(03/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Elm City Brewing Company is awesome. The beers that Bill creates are amazing. His Irish stout is better than Guiness in America. Simply beautiful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Day Michael Day, Swanzey NH, NH
(12/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I make a point of hitting this place atleast 1x month. You can't go wrong w/ old castle or their wheat brew. Try the pumpkinfest when in season. Great FOOD. Well worth the trip to Keene. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scotty Scotty, Lebanon, NH
(12/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We love the food, the beer, the atmosphere, the service, EVERYTHING! They have a great variety of different beers (all great!), and you can take a growler home!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lorraine Lorraine, Northampton, MA
(09/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Tried a couple of beers new to me on this visit. Roggen Bier was nice, but not as crisp as I've come to expect from most rye beers. Pothole Porter was very good; it had a mega-roastiness that carried throughout the pint. Not much going on mid-afternoon, but those who were there were all enjoying their house beers. Worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
OK.it's in a mall... Went here because there's little else in neighborhood..pleasantly surprised. Excellent bartender, friendly fellow drinkers, and outstandind stout. Small bar area, did not eat there. However, service and beer/ale/stout, (tried all) were very fine....we'll go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tommy Byrnn Tommy Byrnn, Dartmouth, MA
(02/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
One my first visit, Espresso Stout was too cold, with litte flavor. Commented to Brewmaster of this and he said he would adjust temp. Went back several weeks later, and the beer was colder, with less taste. Maybe they should take this to heart. All the beers are too cold when served. After they sit a while they are better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Carlin Bill Carlin, Keene, NH
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
I always try to hit this place during my pilgrimages to the nearby McNeill's in Brattleboro. While some of my visits have been great (I still remember the incredible smoked salmon Caesar salad from years ago!), the past few have been lackluster. I was encouraged to hear that a new brewer was in place and made the trek. There were 7 to choose from, and I sampled 4. All were good, with the espresso stout as my favorite on this trip. The bar was busy on a Sunday evening and the restaurant had a fair amount of traffic. I hope to return soon to see the improvements in beer continue!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So
Last week I was making a marathon trip from North Hornell, NY to Albany, through MA on highway 2 up to Keene, NH, back to Bennington VT, and then back to North Hornell, NY (759 miles in case you were wondering). I searched Pub Crawler for a place to stop in that area of MA, NH, and VT. Elm City had the best reviews so that is why I stopped in. I was in a rush and only had time to order a sample set. for $4 you get 4, 2 oz samples of your choice. That day (7/2) you could pick from Hefe Weizen, Peachy Keene, Keene Kolsh, Raspberry Wheat, Cream Stout one I can't read in my notes, and NoName IPA. I chose the Hefe, peach, stout and noname. All were ok, but the stout was the best. the IPA wasn't that hoppy and had a bit of a metalic taste. The waitress was very friendly but just didn't know much about the beer or the place. When I asked what design was on the pint glasses--she told me that there wasn't one. I said "on the pint glasses you sell?" Then she said "oh, I don't know, I'll go look." Well, despite their menue, this girl claimed that they didn't sell pint glasses--instead she tried to sell me some pottery. I politely declined.

If I lived in the area I'd be a regular, I'm sure. But after that drive, I was hoping for something more

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
New owner and new bruemeister (sic)fresh taste, truly excellent food and service. The beers are better than ever.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Hicksville, NY
(05/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
New owner and new bruemeister (sic)fresh taste, truly excellent food and service. The beers are better than ever.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Melody Mike Melody, Hicksville, NY
(05/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review keene, nh
(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We made the trek out to McNeill's, high expectations abounding, only to find out it wasn't quite open yet for the day. We back tracked to Keene to kill some time. From the outside Elm City looks like it might have other priorities than brewing beer. It turned out to be a fortuitous stop though … tried 4 of 8 and like them all. Good food and service were a nice bonus.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(11/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy N/A
Ever the loyal customer, I went back and was greeted by a bartending witch. Beer was good, but she ruined my afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Stout was very smooth, good with a meal. Lunch was excellent, atmosphere very nice. Overall, a very nice place to stop when in Keene.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Jacobson Bob Jacobson, East Hampstead, NH
(10/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
The Noname Ale regrettably was not on tap during our visit. The Octoberfest and the stout, however, were very good. The food, also, was a strong point - unlike many brewpubs. The chili even had decent heat to it (a surprise for New England. Service excellent compared to many brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr. John Dr. John, Alamogordo, NM
(10/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Edwin A. Hodgdon Edwin A. Hodgdon, Londonderry, NH
(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Loved the Texas Red and the food was fantastic. I'll be back, but will have to drive past McNeills to do so, so maybe not.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(08/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
If you like hops, the No Name Ale is superb; the other ales are good but not nearly as unique as the No Name. The sandwiches are good but nothing to brag about, I happen to prefer a brew pub that has man size sandwiches. The crab bisque, however, is out of this world, well worth repeat visits.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Malte Lukas Malte Lukas, Harvard, MA
(05/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The beers were good but not exceptional. Of course, a college town expects that. One must make beers that people will drink. The Oatmeal Stout was the best of the bunch. The food was quite good though, but they did not have what we really wanted to try, a sweet potato jalapeno corn chowder! Sounded really interesting! The venue is quite comfortable and furnished nicely. I would definitely return when in town. Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(05/10/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.203 seconds) 05:49:30 54.234.7.161, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS