PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Firestone Walker Brewing Company - Buellton, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 30, 2014 @ 06:37 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Buellton > Firestone Walker Brewing Company
Firestone Walker Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Firestone Walker Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.7 / 100
620 McMurray Road
Buellton, CA 93427
United States
(805) 686-1557
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: December 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Buellton, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Firestone Walker Brewing Company
27 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Heidelberg Inn
(4 miles)

2) Solvang Brewing Company
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Chimney Sweep Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN KRONBORG INN
2) BEST WESTERN PEA SOUP ANDERSEN
3) DAYS INN WINDMILL
4) RODEWAY INN BUELLTON
5) TIVOLI INN HOTEL
6) VAGABOND INN SOLVANG
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alberto's Coffee
2) Andersen's Pea Soup Restaurant
3) Antonio's Pizza & Pasta
4) ARU Japanese Restaurant
5) Bakers Square
6) Burger King
7) Burrito Loco Restaurant
8) Carl's Jr Restaurant
9) China Panda
10) Club House Pool & Sports Lng
11) Coastal Cuisine Catering Co
12) Dexter's Mini Market
13) Ellen's Danish Pancake House
14) Federico's Mexican Restaurant
15) Garden Cafe
16) Gino's Pizza
17) Jockey Club Restaurant
18) KOOP
19) Las Tres Rosas
20) Mc Donald's
21) Mother Hubbard's Restaurant
22) New West Catering Co
23) Quiznos Sub
24) Rudy's Restaurant
25) Starting Gate Restaurant
26) Taco Bell
27) Taco Loco
28) Thanks A Latte
29) Tonio's Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Also visit new brewery location in Paso Robles. This location was a brewery but is not just dining and barrel aging. Paso Robles location also has a restaurant. Free tours available, but pay samples.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis, MO
(03/27/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Buellton location now includes Barrelworks that is open a few days a week. Has beers aged in various types of barrels, including tequila barrels. Food was good, and beers are great. Sucaba barley wine was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis, MO
(03/27/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
The Pale 31 and Union Jack were great. Hops, hops, hops. I had the soup of the day (Mushroom) which was very good and the Ceasar Salad, which needed a little more refining. I took a taste of the pork chops and realized I missed out on something special. They were delicious. The sweet potato fries on the other hand were not very hot. In fact they were cold. But I was not the one that ordered them or was eating them. My uncle who wondered why they tasted different really enjoyed them despite the serving temperature. He didn't know they were sweet potatoes until I asked how he like them. I thought the Porter was pretty good despite being too cold.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(01/20/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great place, everything that we expected from the Firestone family! Excellent quality, no skimping on anything.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Adler Ron Adler, Chino, CA
(01/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Tries several of the beers they had available. The Hemp Brown and the unfiltered Double Barrel were the standouts. The porter was alright, but I was hoping for better given what I had heard about it.

The food was hit and miss. The burger was excellent but the flat iron steak was rather ordinary and the onion rings were lousy. The menu suffers from a bit of an identity complex. It seems as if they are trying to go for a high end ala carte vibe but not quite pulling it off. The dearth of appetizers was disappointing, and I can't quite figure out why they would serve plates of green beans or macaroni and cheese as stand alone dishes when they come as sides to the main courses.

The service was friendly but extremely inattentive. The wife and I would have had at least a couple more brews if the hostess would have deigned to cehck in on us more. She didn;'t even get the hint when I ordered another round as soon as my previous order showed up. It was busy, but not busy enough to justify the amount of empty glass time we had.

They were out of several of their beers, most notabably the Nectar beers which I was looking forward to trying on tap after enjoying them from a bottle. If they had actually had all the brews printed on their menu I would have given them a "Great" for selection.

All in all though, not a bad place to stop if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Even Holmboe Even Holmboe, Nipomo, CA
(03/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
visited the paso robles brewery and got a growler of double barrell ale to go....and it was awesome...one of the best ambers i have ever swallowed....they let me fill my own jug, so didnt have to buy one there.....if you are close by and just have a half gallon empty milk jug ..go fill it up...had several of the draft firestones at restaurants in the area and went out of my way to the brewery to get some to take home....overall awesome!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kelly kelly, midland, TX
(11/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Can't beat this place for easy access to Hwy.101.The atmosphere inside and out is great. The beer selection has been enhanced with the purchase of the Humboldt BC "Nectar Ales" and ,more recently, the SLO BC. Had a pint each of the FW lager, Double Barrel Ale and the Walkers Reserve. Didn't like the Double Barrel until I started eating my burger. A little beef kicked the beer into gear. Liked the Walkers Reserve best out of the three. Despite some heavy downpours people kept rolling in on a Saturday afternoon so the place has a fan base. Don't care for the abbreviated lunch menu but that just provides more incentive to stop by for dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This month I visited the Paso Robles location, no food here, but wonderful service and great tasting beer. I took home a growler of Pale Ale (one of my all time favorites)and also of their I.P.A.(Great flavor,also one of my favorites) I will stop in at one of the two locations on the central coast everytime I am in the area. The beers, service, and locals are all absolutely wonderful. Well worth the stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo de Leon Leo de Leon, Redlands, CA
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great place. Lots of Locals in late afternoon. Only serve lunch on Friday-Sunday. The sampler is a great start. Be on the lookout for "10" a new beer due Sept.'06. Check out the quarter collection to raise money for a charity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Aaron, San Diego, CA
(08/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is probably the nicest looking brewpub I have ever visited. According to my server, they now own the Mendicino Brewing Co. They now brew all the beer for Firestone and Mendicino . Very nice presentation on the samplers, for $6.00 you get 4 samples and a 16oz. glass of beer, you also get to keep the glass. Beautiful bar and dining area. They were pouring a Lager, a Blonde, a Pale Ale, an I.P.A. thier Double Barrel Pale Ale, an unfiltered Double Barrel, and a Stout. I enjoyed the I.P.A. the best. If you are driving the 101, this is a great place for a break. Lots of locals, made me feel right at home. I will return to try the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Redlands, CA
(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good
"So-so" food rating is reflective of the poor selection- What they DO make is actually pretty good! The brews are excellent, especially the unfiltered. Good people staff the place as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Camarillo, CA
(05/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good
Liked the Double Barrel Ale, but the Walkers Reserve stout had some great flavor to it. Went during the middle of the day so we didn't get the full dinner menu, just the tiny lunch one. The chowder was so-so, but the fries were tasty enough. Friendly staff. Huge place. I'd definitely give it another shot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Koivu Jason Koivu, Carpinteria, CA
(03/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
The beer is good. However, I don't think it is as great as most people think. What the brewery has going for it is when you order a sampler, you get a pint glass to take home - not sure if that is a compliment or not.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So
We didn't stay for the food, since the menu is very limited. But we tried a couple of appetizers: the cheese platter was really bad: the cheeses were unaged and hardly recognisable. What gives? A brewery/winery should know something about aging!!

The beers were okay. The Pale Ale was good, with more flavor than most (not just hops). The Amber Ale was full-flavored and malty. The Porter was very timid, or else accidently diluted with water! Good IPA. Didn't try the Lager: don't need more Budwater.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(05/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Firestone Walker is one of my all time favorite brewerys. The unfiltered Double Barrel ale only on tap is awesome! The pale, stout, and the original Double Barrel are excellent as well. Food was great. Only served dinner from 5:00 on. Had a small lunch menu. Try the angus beef chili.And don't forget their incridible mustard! It's made with the Double Barrel ale. Very friendly bartender. Great industrial style to the pub. A must stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diane Van Wagner Diane Van Wagner, Burbank, CA
(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I tried the sampler, which I shouldn't. One can never get an adeqaute taste of what the beer is truly like. But based on the sampler, their Lager is really refreshing and actually had some taste. The Pale Ale was excellant. And the Reserve in the sampler was a tatsy Porter but when I ordered a pint there just wasn't the taste and body that I originally sampled. I also tried the IPA which they don't sell under their name. It was very good. Didn't try the food but the restaurant part was pretty busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Forget about SLO in central Cali...to the north in Paso Robles is the Firestone brewery and taisting room where they only serve pretzels with there amazing mustard, and of course thier brand label beer as well as the Nectar beers that they brew for the Hemp Ale people. Special to this stop is the unfiltered Double Barrel, which must be sampled more then once. Can you say smooooth!!! To the south in Buellton is where the food gets served, I was able to sample three dishes and they were fine art cusine. Firestone's take on Fish n' Chips is something special, and the Pizzas are killers, and again the beer is....well for my taiste some of the best anywhere, esp. the Pale Ale, hands down my #1 pale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Orion Jack Orion, Long Beach, CA
(07/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Good
Good place to enjoy a good beer. Clean, no rowdies, no bums, no trouble. Good atmosphere, seemed like nice people all in all behind the bar. You can relax without having to worry about anything. I was there July 3rd, 2003, 1:30PM. I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, La Mesa, CA
(07/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
What beer is supposed to be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dafoe dafoe, Santa Ynez, CA
(01/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Outstanding "Walker's Reserve" porter, very smooth and easy to drink; however a bit overpriced at $5/22oz bottle to take one home with you. The on-site draft price is more standard. Double Barrel Ale is a fairly standard red ale, but tasty. Tap room is small, cozy; a nice place to stop for a rest and a brew after touring. Very close to touristy areas like Solvang.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Fowler Mark Fowler, Yorktown, VA
(12/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
This is the tasting room for Firestone. The beer is actually brewed up the road in Paso Robles, in a variation of the Burton-Union brewing system. It's a small place with perhaps a dozen high-top tables and 8 or so places at the bar. I believe that sandwiches are available. A local crowd on Friday nights and everyone seems to know everybody else. They pour a Pale, and a darker ale called Double Barrel. The Double is widely available in central coast restaurants and is worth a try - very tasty. The down side to the tasting room is that it closes up in the early evening, perhaps 7:00 PM or so. That being said, it is definitely worth a stop as the people there are friendly and knowledgeable and the beer is very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(10/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
This is the tasting room for Firestone. The beer is actually brewed up the road in Paso Robles, in a variation of the Burton-Union brewing system. It's a small place with perhaps a dozen high-top tables and 8 or so places at the bar. I believe that sandwiches are available. A local crowd on Friday nights and everyone seems to know everybody else. They pour a Pale, and a darker ale called Double Barrel. The Double is widely available in central coast restaurants and is worth a try - very tasty. The down side to the tasting room is that it closes up in the early evening, perhaps 7:00 PM or so. That being said, it is definitely worth a stop as the people there are friendly and knowledgeable and the beer is very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(10/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great little place and easy to get too off U.S. 101 in Buellton, Ca. If you are planning to go to Solvang, this place is right on thhe way in and out. CHECK IT OUT! They had a Wonderful "Walker's Reserve." The Best! The aalso served a Double Barrel Ale, Firestone pale Ale and Firestone Lager. MUST SEE.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Moreno Valley, CA
(08/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, San Jose, CA
(03/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Great
Their Porter is one of best that I have ever had. Not much in the way of food, but that doesn't matter when the beer is this good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clyde Walker Clyde Walker, Roseville, CA
(10/24/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.545 seconds) 18:37:52 54.167.185.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS